Doug Quilt and Teardrops

I took some photos the other day after I finished the first row On Doug’s latest quilt:

doug1

and a close up:

doug2

In case you are curious about my “echo-swirl” feather design in the sashing above, I have a tutorial here.

I’ve received several emails wanting to know more about Doug’s fabulous custom built Teardrop Trailers.  Here are some of his projects while I have known him the last 5 years.  By the way, the Wood Teardrop and the Rocketear are both for sale if you are interested (email me for details).

Here is his latest one:

doug6

and his interior.  Notice the quilt and quilt store fabrics:

doug2

Before this was his Rocketear:

doug-1

and his interior:

doug4

His quilt has a retro, rocket/alien quilting.  Here are just a few of the dozens of motifs I quilted in Doug’s quilt:

dougquilt

And every retro teardrop needs an old car to haul it with:

doug3

And here is his teardrop trailer before Rocketear:

doug5

He also makes boats, too:

dougboat

If anyone is interested in custom teardrops and interested in the Rocketear or the Woodie, just email me and I can forward it on to him.

11 thoughts on “Doug Quilt and Teardrops

  1. Caron, thanks! I fixed the link. Jackie, I think they are big enough to sleep 2. What are cool about teardrops is that one end stores the cooking and essential supplies for meals. Plus they are retro. LOL! Thanks, C, as always!

    I have an antique library card catalog from UCLA’s library that I picked up when they remodeled back in the early 1990’s. I’ve been wanting to get Doug to add matching panels on the side so I can bring it in the house and use it in our library or guest room. Doug, I’ll barter quilting for woodwork?? LOL

  2. these look like the perfect trailer! big enough to sleep comfortbly, without feeling like you’re moving a “mini house”. A nice solution to the “tenting is too hard to sleep” without admitting I’m becoming older and “need” a trailer! 🙂 I’d love to know more about them… could you send me Doug’s email? Thanks!

  3. How cool those trailers are!! I see those great big ones and think I’d never want something that big traveling behind the care — these are darling! Hats off to Doug

  4. Pingback: Catch Up! « Feathered Fibers

  5. I absolulty love the cream and teal camper. I would love to find out more about it. Dimensions, still for sale, pics of the inside, etc. Thank you so much for any information. Your work is beautiful :-).

    Nik

    • Hi Nik, the designer and artisan builder is a friend of mine named Doug Hodder. You can find him online at High Sierra Quilters, which is a quilt store. He builds one of a kind teardrops, then shows them and eventually sells them. They are works of art!

    • Hi Nik, the designer and artisan builder is a friend of mine named Doug Hodder. You can find him online at High Sierra Quilters, which is a quilt store. He builds one of a kind teardrops, then shows them and eventually sells them. They are works of art!

Leave a comment