Curled Worms Modern Quilting Design

copyright, Carla S Barrett 2014

copyright, Carla S Barrett 2014

For all you freehand quilters who also love modern quilts, here is a fun, easy and forgiving design to quilt.  Try it and see how you like it!  I drew this for a new class called FreeForm Quilting, which is a technique I have done for over 10 years now.   I could see it used on modern quilts or whimsical quilts.

I will be teaching the Freeform Quilting class at the AMQF show in Adelaide, AU in October.  Here is an example of freeform quilting, a feather freeform:


Back to drawing more designs now.  Happy Quilting!  Carla

9 thoughts on “Curled Worms Modern Quilting Design

    • LOL, decided to get a bit crazy with my names. This one is really forgiving and easy, I found. When I load some fabric, I will show what it looks like quilted up. As always, I appreciate your comments!

      • Blog-sharing is such a “cool” venue!!!!! It has taught me everything I’ve learned……..I have never taken an “in-person” fmq workshop……just learned from neat gals (like yourself!!!) and YouTube, with a few books/magazines thrown in for good measure!!!! Hugs……………….

    • Hi Valerie, so kind of you to ask. I am thinking of turning some of my classes into pdf. booklets. For this class, I have broken the steps down so it is easy to freeform quilt. For me, freeform quilting is my great “go to” quilting design when I want something easy and fast to quilt for a border or space. 🙂

  1. Thank you so much for sharing, I’ve practiced on paper and now I need to try it on fabric. Look forward to the possible PDF booklets, love your classes and work.

Leave a Reply

