Modern Maze Quilting Example

I promised you a picture of what my Modern Maze quilting design looks like quilted up.  This is a freehand design, so it is not perfect.  I finally came to a large enough area on Lyn’s quilt to audition and see how this new design works out:

freehand quilting and design by Carla Barrett

freehand quilting and design by Carla Barrett

I like it.  Once I practiced, I found I could do it freehand with no problem.  Here is the drawing and how to illustration for this design:

modern maze quilting design by Carla Barrett

modern maze quilting design by Carla Barrett

design by Carla Barrett

design by Carla Barrett

I think this design would also work out real well as an edge to edge quilting design.  It actually is a very forgiving design to quilt.  As an aside, I stitch in the ditch (SID) my blocks last.  I always do this as a finishing technique for crisp delineation between the colored blocks.

Back to the studio!  I really need to finish this quilt for Lyn, then start a new quilt by Teddie.  The next quilt also has a wonderful black background too, with bright pretty colors.

Enjoy your day!  Hugs, Carla

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Modern Maze Quilting Example

    • Thanks for writing! I wanted a swirly pattern for this quilt, but wanted a more modern feel, hence the reason I went to my tablet and started drawing. I like to have something fun and new on quilts I work on. 🙂

      • It does “keep it fresh”, doesn’t it. You achieved the mod edge with this one and that’s the appeal for me, also!!! Thanks for a great blog!!!!!! Hugs……………….

  1. Great design! Have you thought anymore about a quilt for your Dad? I would love to collaborate on it with you. Been very busy. Love to have coffee sometime. Bobbie

    Bobbie Y. Jarrett Designs

    >

    • Hi Bobbie, yes, I still want to do a quilt for my dad. I am waiting until I next visit his home in MO so I may make good copies of his wartime and military photos. Would love to get together for coffee sometime, Bobbie! Hugs, Carla

Leave a Reply

