Carla’s Modern Maze Fill

Good Day to you!  I was quilting a modern quilt and was practicing some freehand designs for this particular quilt.  I promise to show you pictures when I am done.

Anyway, I often use my tablet to practice freehand designs, so I was practicing and found I like this design (see below.)  To help you figure out how to quilt or draw this, I have broken sections down by color:

design by Carla Barrett

design by Carla Barrett

Here is what this looks like in black and white, version 1

modern maze quilting design by Carla Barrett

modern maze quilting design by Carla Barrett

Here is a slight variation:

Modern Maze fill design by Carla Barrett

Modern Maze fill design by Carla Barrett

Off to now quilt this freehand pattern, so I will let you know how I like it once quilted up.  Promise!

4 thoughts on “Carla’s Modern Maze Fill

  1. That is a real cute design and it looks like it’s doable for even us who are not real talented when it comes to drawing freehand. I could see it on juvenile quilts too. Looking forward to seeing how it quilts up on a real quilt. Thanks for showing how you do it in colors. That really helps a lot.

    • Thanks, Dar! As with any freehand design, practice makes perfect! 🙂 I added a black and white drawing of my practice work in the post above. I went to quilt it and discovered the space I was working on was very small like a border, so now I am working on a small border design to match.

Leave a Reply

