Freeform Beaded Necklace

(Carla Note: to see the finished necklace, click HERE.)

I wanted to share my freeform beaded necklace I have been working on lately.  I started this project with a different color palette, then changed along the way.  I still need to do my finishing touches, including some fringe-work and the necklace strap.

Here are two images: one has a light background and the second has a black background.  What is amazing to me is that the color changes in the Swarovski crystal pendant based on the background color.

Keep in mind the photos are very rough, I will bring in a photo box and lighting for the finished piece.

Here is the black background:

The crystal pendant, in person, appears much lighter.  Similar to a light white/champagne color.  Here is a better image of this cool snowflake pendant:

When I am done, I will have to think carefully how to photograph this piece.  Perhaps draped over some seashells or some other texture.

Keep watching and I will share more pictures when it is done.   Also, details about what beads I used and where I purchased my very cool Swarovski Snowflake pendant.

What creative stuff have YOU been doing?  Hugs, Carla

6 thoughts on “Freeform Beaded Necklace

  1. Paintings mostly, plus cooking and parenting. I firmly believe that counts, teaching should too, no?

    How are you doing? Up yet or still bed bound?

    Hope you’re doing well.


    • Still bed bound, mostly, with periods of walking. No sitting as yet. Today I sat for a bit and ouch! I felt it. My recovery is going just fine, and the films show perfect placement of the artificial discs.

      Actually, there is an expert in Spain who does these types of surgeries and so well known that he gets patients from the US, Europe, etc. and other parts of the globe.

      Yes, both teaching and parenting require CREATIVE skills, I agree! You are so naturally creative anyway. 🙂

  2. Soooo gorgeous! You are the queen of freeform beading! Well I guess I missed the news that you’ve had surgery … YIKES! Please take care of yourself! I’m sorry I didn’t know before now.

    What have I been doing? Go see my blog for my latest mixed media collage for Virginia Spiegel’s ONE fundraiser for the American Cancer Society. Bed-ridden art collectors (who do we know like that???) will love the 2/15/11 event, because they can do all their shopping on-line, LOL!

    Seriously, take care, Carla … I’m sending my Best Voodoo Healing Vibes your way!

  3. Wonderful, looks like real life white coral. You have the feeling that the necklace is alive when you look at it.

    This is why you should not always follow a pattern when beading, exploring free forms sometimes creates beauty.

    A big thumbs up!

    Tiffany @
    Prayer Necklace

  4. Thanks, Tiffany! Did you see the post where I finished this necklace? I added cellini spiral necklace sides- and I am very happy with how it came out.

    Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

