Best of Show at Folsom!!

Barb shared the good news tonight that the antique kimono quilt I quilted and finished just a day before my spine surgery won “Best of Show” at the Folsom Quilt Guild in Folsom, CA.  It also won a first place, too, in the memory quilt category.

I wish I had some good pictures, but here are some snapshots of this wonderful quilt that Barb pieced and designed for her friend, Sally. Sally is planning to hang this quilt in a place of honor in her home.

This photo shows an overview of the back of the quilt:

Here is the front of the quilt, just after I finished it:

Another front view showing the silk blocks, photo transfers, etc.:

Block front:

Block Back:

Kimono Block front:

Another kimono front:

The back shot of this block:

and another kimono block back:

So, above are the pictures of this quilt showing my quilting design.  Now some detail info for machine quilters:  Notice I have lots of freehand quilting, some ruler work and 2 stencils to blend together for this quilt design.  Design elements are repeated throughout the quilt for unity.

I feel that the quilting design is cohesive, balanced, and I carefully picked the thread colors so that the quilting did not overpower the photo transfers or quilt design.  Overall, I used about 10 different thread colors.  In the center section, I curved lines to draw the eye towards the center, the focal point photo on this quilt.

My congrats to Barb on this Best of  Show win- our second together at the Folsom Guild.   My only regret is that I am still recovering from my surgery and am unable to see the quilting hanging in the show.  Hopefully, someone will send me some good quality pictures.

Oh yes, I also want to mention that the lovely silk photo transfers were done by my good friends, the Pixeladies, Deb and Kris.  If the names sound familiar, it is because they will be teaching Photoshop Elements next month on  An announcement will be made most likely within a week.

I have been recovering from my surgery the last 3 weeks, which means I lay down most of the day, interspersed with walking.  I am normally very active before surgery, so I was feeling a bit of recovery boredom the last few days.  This bit of news cheers me up!!  Hugs, Carla

12 thoughts on “Best of Show at Folsom!!

  1. Thank you Carla for your stunning work — I can’t wait for Sally to see it and hang it on her wall at home. We did good together once again! Many thanks my dear friend.

  2. Seems I’m rolling with the crowd, stunning was the adjective that came to mind for me as well. These are simply astonishing workds of pure craftsmanship and art. Amazing.

  3. Thank you for your uplifting words! I will confess to working hard to finish the quilt in time. However, working hard kept me from worrying too much about the surgery- which was a blessing.

  4. Way to go girls!!
    you both did a great job from what we see in the pics.
    I’m still working on my feathers …some day I hope to be half as good as you . i know the best way is p p p ( practice practice practice) so glad that i took your class last winter.
    take care of your self and you will be better in no time.

  5. Just catching up on some blog reading. CONGRATULATIONS on your BoS! It is well-deserved.

    Hope you are recovering more quickly now. Nothing can be more frustrating than to be forced into inactivity. Get well soon.

Leave a Reply

