Freeform Beading Project

First off, thanks for all the prayers and good thoughts surrounding my spine surgery.  My surgery to have an artificial disc replaced was very successful, thanks to the skill of my wonderful surgeon!  The surgery took place on January 20th, in San Francisco, California.  This xray image shows the artificial disc in place:

Hmmm… looks rather like an Oreo cookie in there, doesn’t it?   LOL!

While I am healing, I will do freeform beadwork, so I won’t go into creative withdrawal.  My first project will be a wearable art necklace and here is my bead palette:

and here is a different project- again, in progress-  for a large purse embellishment.  Notice how different the bead colors are:

On the topic of beads and beading, I want to give a huge  “Thank You” to Barb Kiehn, who so kindly gifted me with this book:

It looks like a wonderful resource book on beading!  It was very thoughtful of Barb to give this to me to enjoy while I’m recuperating!

That’s all for today!  Now I want to hear from YOU!  What are YOU doing to nourish your creative spirit?  Hugs, Carla

15 thoughts on “Freeform Beading Project

  1. oh no! you’re not fooling us with that “in progress” picture. i recognize her whether she’s hand drawn or beaded!

    i have to admit she’s real cute in her fancy dress feathers though!

    • LOL! I was wondering what you were talking about, then it dawned on me that the bottom Freeform looks like a bird or chicken!!!

      You have good eyes, I didn’t even see it until now! Hahaha!

  2. So glad your surgery went well! I don’t know how people survive without something crafty to do.

    I just took my second quilt in a week off my longarm, and I ditched the panto on the second one. I’m so proud of myself. I’ve been a chicken far too long!!! I want to be you when I grow up.

    • Congrats on finishing your second quilt! You should be very pleased with yourself.

      Shhh… Don’t tell anyone, but I broke a needle in one of the first few client quilts I ever quilted! I cried, then set about making it right. Talk about a learning experience! Luckily, the customer was a sweetheart.

      Happy Stitching, Carla

  3. Hope you are feeling better! I”m finishing up a quilt that I used a wool batt for the 1st time. Buttah! Next one I’m trying a double batt…with traputo..and its a KING. I think it will circle it for awhile before I start!

    Beth in AZ

    • Hi Beth, if you need help or get stuck, you could place a picture at http://www.quilt under the “quilt whisper help” section.

      You would need to be a member, which is free, but it is nice to get other’s feedback from time to time.

      Wool is lovely to quilt through, I agree!

  4. Its great to hear you are on the nend and that all went well. Isnt it amazing what they can do in this day and age. I do love your beadwork. I am being creative each day – ..however I am off to get my sewing machine back in place and start again.

  5. Glad to hear the surgery went well and you already feeling the need to be creative. Can’t wait to see more of your quitling masterpieces.
    I cleaned my clothes closet and drawers this weekend. Everything is organized and I can see my options arranged by color. May not be creative, but sure feels good to ahve it done. I also started machine quilting a charity quilt. It’s far from perfect, but it’s good practice. 🙂

  6. Are you still collecting salvages?? I remember ages ago when you put the call out to start saving salvages for you and well….I have an entire basket now. Still interested?? Let me know! Also, do you have any quilt whisperer classes upcoming?

  7. It does feel good to clean out closets and pantries. When I’m better, mine need some attention, too. LOL

    Have fun with the charity quilt! Take care, Carla

  8. I am waiting for the “creative” fun AFTER I finish the four quilt sleeves for the upcoming Folsom Show — I’m really looking forward to getting back to my sewing machine and either finishing a UFO or starting a new one!

    Glad to see you’re beading already — can’t keep a good woman down! Oreo is so cute.

Leave a Reply

