Sneak Peek- Kimono Quilt

I finished the kimono quilt today for Barb!  Here is a sneak peek picture revealing part of the quilt:

This quilt is a nice blend of freehand, ruler work and a tiny part of a stencil, plus my pattern board circle.   Here’s a hint: see this design below?

The flower is actually created by using a circle pattern board for the round parts, then sketching in the interior flower using Crayola chalk.  For the outside petals, which appear uniform, I cut my own stencil using fun foam and scissors.  Again, the petals were premarked with chalk to give a more uniform appearance.

I will ask Barb if I may share more pictures on the blog.  She has already seen these pics, so I have not spoiled her surprise.  I finished this quilt with one day to spare!!  How is that to working to deadlines?

If you want to see this quilt in person, it will be on public display at the Folsom Quilt & Fiber  Show beginning February 11-13, 2011.  After the show, this quilt will belong to a private collector

13 thoughts on “Sneak Peek- Kimono Quilt

  1. THANK YOU Carla — as always your work is fantastic. I know that my dear friend Sally will treasure this quilt — it will hang in her entry so that she will see the pictures and her Mom’s kimonos every day. A fabulous memorial gift for her and her family. Every so often I look thru all the pictures of quilts on your blog and enjoy the variety and innovative way you take each quilt and make it something so much better. You are the best!

    My dear friend Bob, who owns Tropical Sea, which resides in his home in Hawaii, the first quilt you ever quilted for me — looked thru the pictures and mentioned his quilt wasn’t there! LOL Do you remember that quilt? It was a batik panel with borders and it was a wall hanging? He also said you were so very talented.

    Remember our rocky start? It’s been a lot of good years, hasn’t it?

    • Please tell Bob that I didn’t take pictures of many of my early quilts. However, if he would like to take a picture of his quilt with side lighting,(which shows the quilting and the quilt design) I would love to share Tropical Sea on the blog.

      Btw, of course I remember that quilt! That was probably the earliest example of all my sashing designs, I think.

      We have worked on MANY quilts together, haven’t we? Take care! C

  2. My quilt is absolutely breathtaking and stunning!!! I will cherish it for as long as I live and then it will be passed down to my kids and so on. Thank you Barb for what you have lovingly created and Carla for the icing to my already beautiful cake! I LOVE it!

  3. You already know how much I admire your work! Cannot wait to see what you come up with for Exuberant Colorwash… it will be stunning, I’m certain!

    LOVE the bead story above, too. Yes, digging through a button box or a bead box is therapeutic on so many levels.

Leave a Reply

