Creative in 2011: Quilting

It feels good to quilt again.  Right now I am working hard to finish up an antique kimono quilt for my friend, Barb.  It will be entered into the Folsom Quilt Show next month, and I am making wonderful progress each day.  That is what I have been doing in the last week, creative wise, as in Creative in 2011:

I don’t want to spoil the surprise for Barb, but here is an early photo taken of just one block that she has already seen:

This is a silk kimono quilt, which is one reason the block just glows in the light.

My goal is to finish this quilt before my upcoming surgery.  Btw, thanks for all the kind thoughts, the short version is I am having an artificial disc replacement surgery, which is the best technology available for what ails me.  This will be done in San Francisco, by a leading spine surgeon whom I trust.    Once I heal, I can get back to what I love doing best: quilting, beading, teaching, traveling, sailing, creating, and doing back flips.   Well, maybe not the last one.  LOL

I already have lots of projects to do while I heal:  writing, new class development, drawing, beading and freeform crochet, etc.  I have a wonderful new challenge to do for, too.  The challenge is to create a beaded piece inspired by “Winter.”    I have it designed in my mind, but I see a freeform beaded necklace inspired by white/blue colors of a winter snow.  I will be using ultrasuede as the base.

I will also be working on a booklet about quilting Theme Quilts, too, for machine quilters.  I’ve had so many requests for this very thick class handout, that I am planning to expand it even more and release it as a booklet.  Here is a sample page showing you how to quilt 3 leaves:

Off to quilt now.    Hugs, Carla

13 thoughts on “Creative in 2011: Quilting

  1. Oh- I love that quilting – and yes – I also love that booklet you are working on…Its will be great to see that. All the best for your surgery…I know what spinal surgery is like… it really will be life changing for you…I will be thinking of you.
    Andrea says hi too. She is busy reading a book a day…or close to…and writing a new ‘book’

    • Hi Joan, thanks for your good thoughts! I will gain almost an inch in height, too! LOL Say hi to Andrea and tell her I think she should write a book about quilting freehand!

  2. What a beautifully quilted block that is. I would love to get my hands on a copy of that booklet. So far I have only ever quilted straight lines and a few curves but I am so eager to learn more!

    • Hi Megan Eliza, I will post info here on the blog when it is ready and published. In the future, I am planning to write a book about making the jump to freehand quilting.

      Be sure to look in my tutorial section for some quilting hints and tips- including lots of designs. Buy a white board and dry erase markers and practice the designs. This will help you when you go to quilt it. Be bold!! 🙂

  3. Let me add my enthusiastic voice to eagerly awaiting the availability of the quilting booklet!

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your quilting tutorials and refer to them often. (when I make my webpage viewable, I always put a link back to your site for those tutorials)

    I’m getting better at freehand quilting but I find that I simply do not have *ideas*. I’m a good technician but dismal in the original design area, so booklets such as your are a godsend to me.

    So, take your time, do a terrific job on the booklet … but hurry; I want a copy!

  4. My thoughts will be with you Carla as you go through this surgery. Glad you have a great doctor. Not a bad “side effect”: gain an inch in height and stay the same weight! Looking forward to all the creative things you’ll be doing while recovering.

  5. Hi Carla,

    I’m so sorry to hear that you are having surgery soon! I send my thoughts and prayers your way. I hope to be taking one of your classes at MQS (haven’t registered yet).

    I hope you have a great day!

  6. Hi Carla,

    Wishing you a very speedy recovery from your surgery!!!!

    I will definitely be first in line for a copy of your quilting booklet. I just love your quilting style – very inspirational!


  7. Hi Carla – good luck with the surgery!
    I’m excited for the quilting booklet as I have always been inspired by your designs. I especially like the sample page that shows not only a design but how to string them together into other designs. I hope (most) every page will have this feature.

    • Hi Sarah, yes, my booklet will have lots of similar visuals. Hmmm… I could even expand it a bit more to show ways to use on a quilt.anyway, thanks for your feedback!

  8. Hi Carla – I’ve just discovered your site and I am so excited by your tutorials! I also love looking at the sheer GORGEOUSNESS of your work – it’s just lovely ( and I haven’t explored your beading yet!!! )

    I was hoping you were going to make your booklet available as an e-book or PDF file for those of us who WANT IT NOW and, as in my case, live outside the US. I don’t know how possible this is – I’m just throwing it out there !!

    I am also sending you my best wishes for your surgery ( which I think you may have undergone by this point ) I hope you have a speedy recovery and feel as GREAT as your wonderful work is !!

    Best wishes,

    Margaret C

    • Hi Margaret, welcome and I am glad you found my site. You might also want to join the forum at http://www.quilt, too.

      I have actually thought about offering it in electronic form, so this might be feasible.

      Thanks for your well wishes. Surgery is now behind me and I look forward to healing and being able to work again.

      Take care, Carla

Leave a Reply

