Nancy’s Quilt

Here is another quilt for my dear friend, Nancy, who lives in Lenoir, North Carolina.  First, here is my “before” picture of her pieced and appliqued quilt:

Next, here is the same quilt, now quilted:

and a little closer shot:

Now the back of this quilt:

I am happy with my design.  Thus said, this is the second design I did for this quilt.  My initial design had some curved cross-hatching and of course, Stitch-in-the-ditch (SID).  When my stitch regulator failed on my quilting machine,  I needed to change things up just a bit to compensate for the fact I couldn’t slow down my machine for the more detail work.

No worries!  The failed part just meant I could upgrade to  a better stitch regulator system.  The part is here and tomorrow I plan to get it installed…. with a little help from my dealer, Megan Best.  Megan has been very helpful, as always.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed reading about this quilt and seeing the final result.  Cheers, Carla


26 thoughts on “Nancy’s Quilt

  1. Absolutely beautimus! And without your SR – wow! If/when mine goes south I’ll just stick to pantos until the new part arrives! :-0

  2. Beautiful quilting and piecing. You are just amazing. I hope to one day be half a good. I guess that means I have a lot of practice to do, right?? 🙂 Dar

  3. A beautiful quilt again, Carla!! Your quilting sets off the beautiful piecing and appliqué just perfectly!

    Do you use some kind of ruler/template to get the stems of your feathers so consistently perfect?

    • Hi Meredith, I just eyeball it for bread and butter quilts. They are not perfect, but look similar enough that the eye reads them as being the same- or close. LOL

      If I am doing a show quilt, I would be more exact and cut myself a template perhaps. Most often, I just mark the spine before I quilt it for spacing.

      Great question! Thanks, Carla

  4. In my fantasy world……… I quilt just like you🙂. This is fabulous. It’s always amazing to me how much the quilting changes a quilt top. Wish I owned this one!

  5. Thank you for your very nice complements. To be honest, I see my original design in my head, which I like much better. LOL We are our own worst critics, aren’t we?

  6. Fantastic! I particularly love how integrated everything is and how it flows across the quilt. Just amazing.

  7. Stunning work as always. Nancy will LOVE this one — anyone would. Your designs are so innovative and the results are unbelievable.

  8. Are you kidding me? You did that without the stitch regulator. OK, I’m not worthy. LOL

    I do love the design and because of your design choices, SID would be redundant, don’t you think.


  9. Once again, simply stunning work, Carla!! Your work is beautiful every time; I am in awe!
    (would love to see what was in your head if this is not perfection!!) `;-D

  10. OMG, Carla! I’m late to the party in congratulating you on another GORGEOUS quilting job! I had lost your blog address when my computer went kablooey, and just found you again. How fun to see your fabulous quilting, your stunning beading, and your beautiful family.
    Linda (no longer in Houston, now in San Antonio)

    • Thanks, Lori! This was one of many quilts I did for Nancy. Sadly, she passed away in 2011 and I miss her. Just messaged you on FB. Hugs, Carla

Leave a Reply

