You Want Me To Do WHAT???

After MQS Convention, I decided to rent a car and drive it down to Springfield, MO to see my Dad and relatives.  I had set up a one way car rental with a major car rental company.

Imagine my surprise when the Car Rental Employee does my rental agreement and then mentions that “oh yes, you need to go get the oil changed for your rental car… it should only take an hour.”  While my mouth is open in shock, he proceeds to give me directions.

Funny, huh?  Only this guy was serious.  He really thought it was appropriate to ask a customer, a Gold Club member, no less; to do maintenance on the rental vehicle.

Of course, if I had my tablet laptop working, I would draw a cartoon about this.  I recognized the humor in it as it was happening.

Joe encouraged me to write a letter to the car rental company, so I did.  As soon as I hear back, I will let you all know what the corporate office says.

The burning question I bet you are thinking is “Well, did you go and get the oil changed?”

My answer is:


a big fat NO!!   Carla doesn’t do car maintenance on rental cars.  Not gonna happen in my lifetime.  I would call AAA if the oil ran out and the car started smoking though.  I am just so thoughtful that way.

Cheers!  Carla

12 thoughts on “You Want Me To Do WHAT???

  1. I cannot imagine a rental car agency asking you to do that! I would have been looking for the “candid camera” or “punked” crew…unbelievable! I can’t wait to hear what the company has to say…

  2. i’m glad that didn’t happen to me. that poor guy would have though the renter from hell was standing in front of him. his ears would have been burning. i believe that is HIS job and he just didn’t want to do it. i might have given thought to draining the oil down before i brought it back to him…..but i am just evil like that. hard to believe.

  3. Unbelievable … you obviously handled the situation …

    PLEASE share the rental car company’s response with us … can’t wait to hear how they “explain” this one!

  4. Wow, that is quite a request. I don’t think it matters if you are a Gold Club member or renting from that company for the first time…..they should not expect you to have the oil changed. That is crazy!!

  5. Let me guess it was Hertz. I just rented from them and had to take the car in for an oil change. My other option was to sit for 2 hours and wait for them to take the car. Since I had to leave town quickly for a funeral, I took the car to the arranged Valvoline and had the oil changed. But yes, you aren’t the only asked to do their maintenance. There were 2 good things – I didn’t have to pay and the oil change place had no customers so I was in and out in a hurry. I figure I got even with them though – 1600 miles on the car in 4 days.

Leave a Reply

