Barbara Chainey Stencils

I wanted to share a few of my favorite stencils by Barbara Chainey with you all.  I am a longtime fan of Barbara’s books (including Quilt It!, The Essential Quilter, and  Fast Quilts From Fat Quarters) and also her stencils, too.

Barbara lives in England, and is a noted teacher, author, and designer.  She lives with a batty border collie named Himself, and 3 cats in her home in deepest middle England.

I first “met” Barbara online when I linked to her site from my blog, and then she commented back.  Since that time, I have had the pleasure to get to know her a bit better through emails.  Since I love her stencil designs, sold through Stensource, I thought I would share them with you, too.  It also happens that some of my favorite stencils also happen to be on sale, too, including this favorite stencil:

To my regular blog readers, this design may look very familiar.  Here is a quilt photos where I used this design:

And this variation on Barbara Kiehn’s baby quilt for her cute granddaughter:

What I love about this design is that it is easy to quilt.  On sale at $2.84 US is a bargain!

Next is Barbara’s Scallop Feather border and block design:

You can see the border used on this quilt, with a slight variation:

If you like the design in the middle of this following quilt, Barbara has a stencil for that, too, also on sale for $2.64 US:

You just mark the quilt and then flip it aoroung for the other side to get the 4 feather design.

Here is a stencil that I own, and plan to use the border in the near future.  I love it, even if it is not on sale right now:

There are many more wonderful stencil designs by Barbara, but I thought I would show you just a few.  By the way, I am receiving no compensation to share these designs with you, I just like them and think they are worth sharing about.  Happy Quilting!  Carla

15 thoughts on “Barbara Chainey Stencils

  1. Carla, what do you use to mark the stencil? I know for my own quilts, I’d use Ultimate Pounce chalk because I *always* machine launder my quilts after they are finished.

    BUT … should I ever be in the position to want to use a stencil on a customer quilt, that might not be on their List of Things To Do immediately. (although I would hope that at *some* time they would be laundering it!)

    Any suggestions?


  2. Hi Shelly, yes, I showed this trick just last week in a Quilt Whisperer Class: I mark on dark fabric using Miracle Chalk powder applied with a foam brush (no pounce pad here). I showed them how easy it was, and this way doesn’t have excess chalk bouncing everywhere. Once quilted, I use a bristle paint brush to simply brush it off. No need to wash or steam the chalk off.

    With light fabrics, I mark using a Marvy Marker purple erasable fabric pen. I learned this tip years ago from Ronda Beyer, and I am glad I listened to her as I love this pen. When done, there is 3 ways to remove the mark: 1) do nothing and it will disappear on its own; 2) use the opposite tip on the pen to remove the mark; and 3) spritz with water, though be careful of any potential fabric bleed if you do that.

    Again, no laundering needed. Hope this helps.

  3. Hi Carla,
    I have already received some of Barbara’s stencils from Stenhouse, even though it cost an arm and a leg to ship to the UK……but I love that last one……very Moroccan…..wish I had seen it sooner…… think I’ll have to check if Barbara has an outlet over here?????

    Best Wishes
    Kay in Scotland
    Maybe you would like to visit my new blog

  4. Carla, thank you so much for your inspiration. I have been suffering from burnout lately. I love using stencils but have not been using them lately….these pictures are so inspiring, almost makes me want to get home so I can qulit….almost :o)

  5. Thanks Carla! I love being a very small part of your fabulous quilting work! Memo to self: send new designs to Carla to trial …

    • LOL Barbara, I have more of your stencils, but thought I would focus on the ones chosen. The first one, I am always asked where to buy it, so blogging about it just makes sense.

      I would certainly LOVE to test out any of your designs, too. LOL

  6. Beautiful quilted pieces. I have long been a fan of Barbara’s quilting and am lucky enough to be able to go to classes with her and Chris Frances. Great fun and inspirational.

  7. Carla,
    Your quilting is always so lovely.
    I have never used stencils… you follow them with the help of some kind of straight edge or can you do it “free-hand”.

    And I’m wondering….how are you achieving your weight loss?

    • Cindy, when you use a stencil, you mark it on the quilt in the location you want it. Up above, I share my marking tricks that work for me. Then I freehand quilt over the marking and try to find a way to adapt the stencil design and add my own flourish.

      If you look carefully at the top two borders shown above, you can see subtle differences where I add some additional lines or designs. The second picture shows where I added hearts to the design and echoed to fill space.

      Re: weight loss- I am finding success with a program called Medifast. I learned about it after talking to Megan Best, my A1 Dealer. This program works very well for me and I love the taste of the food. I have a diet coach/mentor, Debbie, who calls me once a week, too. If anyone is interested, just email me and I can answer questions or refer you to Debbie.

      There are many fine programs out there for losing weight. The key is to find the right one for you.

  8. Stensource is probably going to wonder why sales on these items are going up! You should probably receive a discount or something!

  9. Thanks for the inspiration. I did go to Stensource and order stencils. I have not yet gotten to the point that I can always see the possibilities in a stencil. I hope to get there in time.

  10. Carla. Thank you for sharing your favorite stencils! Do you know the name of your favorite one on the top? I can’t find it on Stensource. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

