Gold Bug Quilt Finished!!

I finished this guild quilt this morning.  It is now going to the quilt designer to be trimmed and bound.  I admit I am physically tired… LOL  For those who have asked, it is a king size plus quilt.

Here are some pictures of it hanging on my dining room table:

the center section:

Another view of the first 2 borders and how they look together:

and the back of the quilt:

Now to do my final trimming of the back side of the quilt.

If any guild members read this, I do hope you will stop and leave me a comment about how you like the quilting?   The same goes for non guild members….

Btw, The guild will be selling a smaller version of this quilt in pattern form, too.

Regards, Carla

58 thoughts on “Gold Bug Quilt Finished!!

  1. It is so wonderful, actually I think it’s one of the most fabulous quilt designs i have ever seen. Simply LOVE it! Thanks for sharing the pictures!

  2. Fabulous! Absolutely fabulous!
    I’ve following your blog and is amazing of your creativity in quilting designs! Thanks a lot for the wiew!

    Anne J from Norway

  3. It is absolutely stunning, and it is enormous….no wonder you’re tired. Time to go hang out and gold a grand daughter or something relaxing, no?

  4. The quilting is absolutely beautiful!!! I hope, one day, I can quilt half as good as you!!! I like the quilt, too, and would love to buy the pattern when it becomes available.

  5. As a GoldBug guild member this quilt is BEAUTIFULL, STUNNING. Thank you Carla for such a wonderful design for this quilt. Mary Brand

  6. Carla, A breathtaking quilt is putting it mindly. Congratulations for finishing it and all you do to inspire us.


  7. Congratulations on finishing this absolutely stunning quilting job — I love the picture of the back — what a lot of work. The guild is going to be thrilled when they see this!

  8. Ethan, my 7 year old grandson, would like to comment on these pictures:

    “I love your quilting Carla. It’s awesome and pretty! It looks like the picture is popping out on the front of the quilt.”


    • Dear Ethan, thank you for your very nice comment. Your grandmother is a very special friend and she loves you very much I know.

      I have heard all about what a terrific big brother you are, too. Your sister is lucky to have a brother like you.

      Warm Regards, Carla

      PS: Say hello to your mother from me!

  9. I want to be Carla when I grow up and quilt just like her!

    Karen – who is already an adult who just wishes to have a little of Carla’s talent🙂

  10. Pingback: Världens vackraste kviltning? | Anna syr

  11. Just stunning. It’s in the ‘Knocks your socks off’ category. Not many quilts qualify, but this is over the top quilting. Thanks for sharing.

  12. No matter how well those of us who design and piece succeed, I firmly believe that the quilting MAKES the quilt … and this one is singing like a symphony chorus ~ AMAZING!

    Well done!!!!!!!!!!

  13. This was the very most beautiful quilt I have ever seen. When I showed it to my 11yr old son (he just loves to hang over my shoulder) and wondered out loud how it was possible for a human being to make it, he just answered that you had to be old and trained a lot LOL.
    Anyhow, it is such a master piece and looking at it takes my breath away.

    • LOL, be sure to tell Wolfie that I have been practicing for just under 6 years (for the quilting side of it, anyhow). Be sure he knows that many kids quilt, including boys.

      Thank you for your nice comment.

  14. A blogger here in Sweden linked to Your site, so perhaps You´ll get more comments from Sweden.
    I have never seen anything like it, ít´s absolutely stunning!!
    The guild must be over the moon, such a work of art. I can only agree with previous comments, the quilting makes the quilt!!

  15. What beautiful work! Reminds me of how I found you…a friend sent me a link to the double wedding ring quilt that was on your blog a while back. She wanted me to make one for her daughter. It wouldn’t hold a candle to yours. I’m definitely a big fan!!

  16. Pingback: Quilt Whispering Time! « Feathered Fibers

  17. OMG!!!! That is amazing! I can’t stop looking at it! My heart is pounding out of my chest!!! I am in total awe!!! Congratulations on a job VERY well done! I hope it goes into some shows!!

  18. As a Goldbug quilter, I am amazed and grateful for your incredible creativity and gift. Congrats on a job well done!

  19. Carla, On behalf of Gold Bug Quilters, thank you soooo much for honoring us with your exquisite quilting. Kari MacDonald’s design is wonderful and your quilting just brings the whole quilt together in a surprise that takes one’s breath away. I know we will sell a lot of raffle tickets. Thank you very much and may God bless you with your every stitch.

    Carol Wyllie, Gold Bug Quilters 2010 Quilt Show chairperson

Leave a Reply

