Selvage Quilt

I am currently quilting a selvage quilt I pieced and put together awhile ago in this post.  It is now half done and I will show you tomorrow how I am quilting it.  I freely admit to picking comfortable quiltingdesigns so that I finish it fast.  I need to finish it, bind it, and get it to the quilt store to be a class sample.

Of course, I need another class sample, so I started a new quilt.  I am making a red zinger- a cool quilt pattern I first learned about from Karen Griska, who has written a wonderful book about selvage quilts titled, “Quilts From the Selvage Edge.”  On her blog is a great tutorial for creating the red zinger selvage quilt- which looks like this:

(Photo by Karen Griska.  Visit her Blog at the link above.)

I will take a picture of  how far along I am on my red zinger tomorrow.  It will look different from the quilt, above, when I am done.

That’s all from today!  Happy Quilting!

11 thoughts on “Selvage Quilt

  1. I love your selvage projects. I made a Kiwi Zinger last year and lots of smaller selvage projects and am trying to decide on my next selvage quilt. Isn’t it fun to work with selvages?

  2. Carla,
    I just finished my Purple Zinger quilt based on Karen’s too. I love it and so does most everyone who sees it. I quilted mine on my new longarm (only my 2nd quilt) and I’m happy with my progress. Can’t wait to see yours. I know it will be very creative and unique. Dar

  3. Carla – I made a red zinger wallhanging also based on Karen’s tutorial. What fun they are to make. And it goes together so fast. I just quilted 1/4″ double straight lines around the red bits. Quite a conversation piece, too. I can’t wait to see how yours turns out.

  4. Hi Carla,
    Thanks for mentioning my book and blog. I love it that quilters like the Zinger idea. And I love to see all the versions. I can’t wait to see yours.
    I enjoy your blog and cartoons.

  5. Hi Barb! I use both, but my favorite are the one with words or dots. If you are saving them for me, I need a bit of fabric on them so I can overlap them and sew. Thanks, Friend!!

  6. Have I been dropped from your blog feed? Or are you not posting? Always enjoyed your posts — now cannot find them.

Leave a Reply

