Bad Cow!

Life is never quiet living next to a large ranch.  Right now, I am having problems with a bad cow… er… a bad bull to be more accurate.

Here is an example of how close they get to my house.  This one is not the offending bull, but a friend:

First, he outsmarted Woody, the Redneck Contractor, who didn’t have our gate wired properly, so the bull figured out how to trip the safety beam to auto open the gate.  This bull would come in at his leisure, and sometimes bring his friends.  It is so not cute if they tromp your grass and flower beds, rub up against the house, etc.

So my wonderful dear husband (DH) rewired the gate properly so the bull would not get in.  Last week was a bull free week.  It was nice.

So imagine my surprise when my propane drive calls me on the phone this morning, while he is on my driveway delivering fuel, to let me know I had a nasty bull in my yard and that it charged him.

I tell the propane driver I will deal with it and that he is safe to leave.  Off he goes, but I noticed he refused to even give me my propane bill… oh well.  I head over to the bull to chase him out like always.  Only this time he is NOT happy and charges me.  Uh-ohhh!  I ducked behind an oak tree, and ran like crazy to the house.  But now I am ticked and bound and determined to win this battle of wills!

So I get my car and I am planning to chase this  bull off my property!  Yeah, baby, try messing with me now!  So I herd him near the gate, open it with my button, and get out to wave and holler like crazy.  Only he charges me again.  So I run for safety and barely make it to my car.

Rex, my 100 pound lab/great dane/retriever  mix tried to chase off the bull, too, but got head butted and almost stomped on for his reward.

By now, I have admitted a temporary defeat.  Once home, I try calling Rancher Ed to see if he will fetch his bull.  Only Rancher Ed is not home.  So I call my DH at work and explain the situation.  So now, I have successfully enlisted my DH to come home and become my partner in bull removal.

It figures that of course by the time my husband gets home, the bull had jumped the fence and left for greener pastures.  That must have been how he got inside our property.  He must be one nimble bull, the fence is barbed wire and about 5 feet high.

Since we couldn’t find it on our property, we drove on the ranch to see if it had rejoined the herd.  Sure enough, there he was.  Out of curiosity, my husband gets out to see if he would be charged too.  Yep, he was- end of experiment.

It is clear that Rancher Ed has a problem bull in his herd.  He is a wonderful neighbor, once he learns what trouble his bull has been causing, he will sell it.  I can hardly wait.  Keep you posted!

19 thoughts on “Bad Cow!

  1. i can SOOOo relate. we had a problem bull 2 years ago that had me penned in the orchard area for some time before he decided it was boring to play that game and left. i named him Hamburger. i advised his owner and he was gone shortly thereafter. i do not like feisty cows or bulls. i do feed them in the summer from the garden but that bull was not to be tamed.

    hope you get rid of him soon.

  2. You are a brave soul — you wouldn’t catch me out there chasing a bull! Turn him into hamburger and put him on the grill!

  3. You are one brave couple to go and temp a bull…even in a car. I’d be afraid he’d ram my car and then I’d be pissed with a dented car!

    Here’s to “Meat, It’s what’s for dinner”!

  4. Yep. BTDT in Buckley, WA. Bull decided to pay the neighbors a visit. Used my shrubbery and a fence as scratching devices, knocked down part of our 3yr old fence. Fortunately, the owners came not too long after that with a couple of vehicles and some ropes. That bull did not want to be lassoed and I thought we might witness a goring for a bit there.

    Eventually he was tethered and taken home. Whew! Scary. (Our other neighbor had a fight with the owner over the incident because she wanted some plants replaced. The bull owner felt it was the risk of living out in the country. We just fixed the damage, figuring it wasn’t worth the battle over a couple hundred dollars.)

    • Wow, what a tale!! As you know, your cattle owner was in the wrong, legally. In most states, the rancher must maintain his fences in such a way as to contain his cattle. If a cattle gets out and damages others property, he is on the hook for restitution. The bull owner sounds like he might not be a very good neighbor.

      I am with you though…unless the damage was costly, I would just fix it myself in the spirit that is was not worth the hassle.

      I do have to say that my rancher is a very good man and neighbor, if his cattle damaged any property, he would make good. When we had that horrible snow storm not too long ago, had no power, and were stuck in our home, Rancher Ed came by on his all terrain vehicle to make sure we were OK.

  5. Hello and congratulations!!! you are one of my winners for the Beadwright comment contest. If you would please send me your mailing information we will send you free beads. Also a link from Beadwright blog to yours.

    P.S. Bulls in the yard. Love the story.


    • Yeah!!! I won something!! Woo-hoo!

      I will be sure to share what I won when it arrives. Nicole does stunning beadwork, so I will share links to that as well when I write that blog post.

      Thanks, Nicole!!

  6. The best way to get a bull out of your yard, ….. a heifer in heat on the other side of the fence. Ask me how I know this..LOL

  7. Thanks a lot Carla!! After reading your blog, I woke in a cold sweat from a night mare at 2:30AM!! I was being chased by a bull!!! LOL LOL LOL!! I am scared of even little baby cows…when we lived on our ranch, we had a three day old calf roll under a fence and get separated from his momma. When I tried to help him, he charged at me and I ran screaming away from him!!! The 80 year old neighbor man about laughed himself to death….he loved to tell that story to anyone and everyone who would listen…

    • Maxine, so sorry to trigger a childhood trauma! If it is any consolation, large bulls are rather slow. I was able to keep myself safe by using the trees to my advantage. The second time, I jumped into my car.

Leave a Reply

