Christmas Cartoon

Merry Christmas to you and yours!  Here is a quick holiday toon that I sketched up this morning.  I am taking artistic license with a childhood memory:

When I was a little girl, I knew Santa was real because he always left behind his boot print in the fireplace.  Of course, in my chicken world, Santa leaves behind his chicken print and also gets stuck.  Life for chickens are just plain hard, I guess.  LOL

I have one more Christmas story to leave with you today.  One Christmas, when I was about 10, my sister and I thought we would outsmart my parents by unwrapping some of my gifts in the middle of the night and then rewrapping them.    Only two problems, one is that my twin aunts, who had been staying with us, came home late from dates and caught us red-handed.  My second problem was that due to the low lighting, I opened this really cool present, a bar set that makes fizzy drinks.  Only problem was that the package said “Carl,” my dad’s name, and not “Carla,” which I thought I saw.  Needless to say, I was really disappointed the next day when I saw my dad open it up instead of me.  Serves me right, I later thought.  LOL

Any childhood memories to share?

Merry Christmas!!  Carla

7 thoughts on “Christmas Cartoon

  1. The Christmas of my 6th grade year, I unwrapped a box that said “Muk-Luks” (a brand of slipper socks in those ancient days). I said “Look what I got! Muk-Luks” and I pulled my first bra out of the box. I was very embarrassed….and never to this day do I plan to find what is on the outside of the box, inside. Lesson learned.

  2. Christmas of my 2nd grade year, the doorbell rang and we opened it to what appeared to be a mountain of presents and no one there. Turns out the teenagers of a neighbor found out my mother was in the hospital after having major lung surgery. My three siblings were not in school yet and surgery was scheduled so Dad could be home from his teaching job to help. My folks had moved us to the PNW the previous year from the MidWest. We had no relatives in the area. We were VERY poor. The neighbors were sure there would be no Christmas for us that year. So instead of buying gifts for each other, they bought gifts for our family.

    If was very hard for my proud father to accept such kindness but it really did help us to make it through a very sad year. (That year JFK died, my grandfather (Mom’s dad) had died unexpectedly and mom was very sick.)

    That Christmas still evokes bittersweet memories.

  3. When I was about 11 or 12 I opened a gift my dad brought in and said some man had given to him to bring home and he didn’t know who it was for. It was a white sweater set I had been wanting. Of course my brothers and sisters told on me and my parents were very disappoined in me. I never open another gift before Christmas after that.

  4. I’m going to join in late…when my sister, brother and I were in the 7 to 10 year old range, we always got to open 1 gift on Christmas Eve to keep us entertained until “Santa” came. All 3 of us were laying around the Christmas tree in the living room playing the game we had opened. All of a sudden, there was a knock on the back door (which you couldn’t see from the living room). “Ho, Ho, Ho” and all 3 of us at the same time said “Hi, Ben”, who was a friend of the family dressed up and doing his yearly stint as Santa. It was our last year for Santa to come visit on Christmas Eve for all 3 of us. My sister was still a firm believer until that Christmas. It makes me sad to think of it!🙂

Leave a Reply

