What is on my Kindle?

I love reading books on my kindle.  I highly recommend this electronic device for any book lover on your Christmas  or holiday list.  You find a book, push a button, and there it is a few seconds later on your kindle all ready to read.  Instant gratification!

So… what are my latest purchases?

Thanks to my sailing pal turned Catalan home renovator, Oreneta,  at Oreneta Aground blog for the book referrals listed on her page.  One book, Heart in the Right Place, by Carolyn Jourdan, I was able to zip over to amazon.com and purchase.  This looks like a fabulous read, so I will start it tonight.

SuperFreakanomics is also a recent kindle purchase.  I enjoyed their first book, so I am looking forward to Levitt and Dubner’s latest book.

I enjoyed the Time Traveler’s Wife a few years ago, so I purchased Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger.

Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favorite writers; I love all her books.   So next on my list is her latest bestseller, Lacuna.

Next, I will turn my attention to classic chick lit.  For just a few dollars, you can download the complete works of Jane Austin?  Amazing!

Anyone read a good book lately?

11 thoughts on “What is on my Kindle?

  1. Sounds like you really enjoy the kindle. I’m still tossing up whether I am going to get one and add to my electronic paraphenalia but I think I’m leaning towards getting it.
    Thanks for sharing this post.

  2. Ooooh, thank you for the heads up about the new Kingsoliver and Superfreakonomics. I LOVE Kingsoliver, though I have to say that the only one I didn’t like was the Poisonwood Bible, though I have to admit that it has stayed with me, which I suppose is a compliment. Freakonomics was also fascinating…

    Too bad you have to be in the States to use a Kindle….

      • Carla — did you know that your post to Oreneta showed up as public on the blog?

        No, so thank you! If anyone read it, sorry about that, I was telling Oreneta some private tidbits about my health. LOL, I am such a blonde sometimes! LOL

  3. Carla, I just read The Unlikely Lavender Queen: A Memoir of Unexpected Blossoming” by Jeannie Ralston and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a true story and you can pick up where the story ends in the book on their web page. They are a fascinating couple with 2 children now.

  4. A great cruising book “An Embarrassment of Mangoes” by Ann Vanderhoof. I also liked “Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows, “The Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (a beautifully written mystery) and “Someone Knows My Name” by Lawrence Hill. I’m reading “The Help” now and really like it. I also read Paula Deen’s memoir and enjoyed it.

    How do you think a Kindle would work on a boat? Everyone I know who has one loves it and I’m running out of places to stash books!

  5. Harriet, I loved “An Embarrassment of Mangoes.” As for your KIndle question, yes, if you purchase the new international Kindle, you can buy a book in the middle of the Caribbean. I ran this experiment while on the bareboat rental last month. Worked like a charm, though Kindle placed a small international surcharge.

    How goes the cruising life in the Bahamas??

Leave a Reply

