The Saga Continues…

Day 3 with no power or heat.   The unusual storm that hit us last Sunday night took out our electric power.

To keep my spirits up, I will have a very creative day today.

The cold has been my hardest challenge.  We did get one gas fireplace to work in one bedroom, so that has been our only source of heat at night.  We cannot keep it running all the time, because we do not want to run out of propane.  So we bundle up in many layers and snuggle up with quilts during the day.  I am definitely a warm weather gal!

Regards, from a snowbound Carla

7 thoughts on “The Saga Continues…

  1. Seems like there are several states getting snow storms of the century! I have been wishing for snow but I am rethinking my wish. They had 20 inches here in 2000. I wouldnt want to wake to more than that!

    I hope they get your power restored soon! At the least, get the roads clear so they can bring in propane to everyone!

    Will keep you all in thought!

  2. Your comment button is being freaky too, but I made it in. Did you ever read The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder?


    You’re starting to remind me of that.

    Hope you have some good books anyway and thank goodness you have a propane stove.

  3. Carla,
    This must be really surreal for you after living where you were for so long. We just drove back home from Utah Monday, and hit a nice snow storm along the I15. Have you considered purchasing a pellet stove, once you’re able to get out of hibernation for a day?
    Hope you have a good supply of hot chocolate and warm socks.

  4. UGH! Day 3 and continuing. I hope that you have a decent supply of propane to keep you going the distance. It is also a good thing that you are extremely crafty…imagine if you weren’t?! Cold and bored are not good partners.

    Received my first email about January’s workshop. Can’t wait. Will need to get a few items at Michael’s – especifically gel pens in white. So exciting!

  5. I am keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. Hoping that your power will be restored soon. We had a terrible storm a couple of years ago that left our community without power for a week or two. We only ended up without power for about 2 1/2 days. It was so cold. It is an experience I will never forget.

    • Amy, I agree. I felt constantly cold all the time, a sensation I had never felt before. It really gets your attention and leaves an impression on you. I am very thankful that my power was restored and the home is heated. Thank you for your thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

