I’m Back!!

Back in town from my trip sailing in the British Virgin Islands.  I’m happy, tanned and rested!!


The only oops during the trip was when I stepped on a sea urchin while near Foxy’s Taboo on Jost Van Dyke.   The locals hooked me up with a very nice local taxi driver/witchdoctor, who found me the home remedy.  LOL!  Can anyone guess the local home remedy/secret for dealing with sea urchin injuries?  (answer below)




a product called “soft wax.”  Yes, it really worked, too.  The black sea urchin broke off the tips when it entered my foot.  If you try to remove the sea urchin tips, it makes it worse.  I had 5 punctures that was not pretty and looked pretty swollen.  Trust me, it was painful.

My first thought was that urine would make it feel better.  Luckily, Joe was dry, so I didn’t have to go there, you know?  Life is good…

So you have to melt the wax over each sea urchin hole with a match, taking care not to burn your skin.   The wax is supposed to harden, then it comes out.  However, we are talking the tropics, so it never hardened.  I finally just wiped it off and then treated it with neosporin.  The next morning, it was about 80% improved!!  Whew!

More stories and photos to follow.

One last note, I am fine tuning all my class lessons for the online Quilt Whisperer class which starts Monday.  The class is full, but I still have openings for the January class at Machine Quilter’s Resource.

Cheers, Carla

11 thoughts on “I’m Back!!

  1. Glad you are back and had a great trip. I am signed up for your January class – had to move from this first one and am so excited and looking forward to a creative infusion!

  2. Thanks, Carol and Vicki!! I had such a good time, and even have a good ego-enhancing story about my birthday.

    See you in Jan, Carol. Btw, I mention your name in my first lesson, too. LOL

    • Thanks, it is so good to be home. I missed my home, my comfy bed with high thread count, and a comfy chair!

      Looking forward to the class on Monday, too. I’m making last minute editing changes before I upload the first lesson, video and creative exercise folders to the site on Monday am. bright and early.

  3. Pee is actually supposed to work for that, it breaks down the spines. So I’m told. That said, we never stepped on one.

    Glad the vacation was fantastic!

    Oooh, to be going sailing. *sigh*

  4. Well, at least if you pee’d on yourself you do not have to worry about infections! LOL – good thing you just used a tried and true ointment.

    Glad you’re back! Post more pictures, please!!!

  5. So glad you’re back — now I can check out your blog and see what you’re up to…..I missed your artistic endeavors and ideas. So glad you’re relaxed and happy!

Leave a Reply

