Quilt Whisperer Registration Begins!

Hello!!  Registration begins tomorrow, October 16th, 2009, for my first online quilting class, titled “Quilt Whisperer 101” on the Machine Quilting Resource website.  This is a class on quilting design, which starts on November 16, and ends on December 4, 2009.

iamaqw copy

Who should take this class?

Most quilters struggle with the decision of how to quilt a particular quilt top. This class will help you develop, or improve, the skill to “read” a quilt – whether you quilt for yourself or for clients.

I also will be covering quilting inspiration, creating a quilting journal, how to quilt my favorite designs, plus more!!

This class is for all machine quilters, no matter what machine size or type you own. This includes domestic, short, mid and longarm machine users.  There is no prerequisite for this class.

I hope you will join me for this class.  More details can be found on MQResource’s Longarm University page.

If anyone has a question about this class, please leave a comment and I will get back to you!  Happy Quilting, Carla

17 thoughts on “Quilt Whisperer Registration Begins!

  1. Would you mind if I joined the class and digitized your designs for my home computerized robotic system? I only quilt for myself, never commercially, but I don’t ever do free-motion quilting?

  2. I tried to get into msresources and onto knots & bolts but there must be a problem. Your class sign ups must have taken down the entire site because it is so popular!!! I’ll keep trying. Wish me luck!

  3. Carla, I signed for the class and thankfully had no problem. I recently bought a Wacom Bamboo tablet and hope to use it. Is this class a two parter?

    Thanks, Cari in Yuba City

    • Hi Madder, I believe the site has the ability to allow students from all over the globe, but I do know that the class will be taught in english only. I would suggest you contact the site offering the class and pose the question to them. My guess is that the answer is yes.

      Good question, by the way!

  4. Pingback: Quilt Whisperer Online Class « Feathered Fibers

    • The site and I are currently trading emails on the subject of offering a second class after the new year. Once we reach a consensus, the site will announce it. I will also post the info here, too.

      As for the videos, These will be short instructive feeds related to the subject matter I am teaching at the time. Since I am new at developing videos, think more of a “YouTube” feel to them. LOL

      I do know that my class software program will be set to “read only” for the class content, just to protect it from sharing. I would direct your question to the MQR Administrators since that are more familiar with the details than I am.

      Thanks for posting your questions! Regards, Carla

  5. Carla, I am registered for your class and can hardly wait. My question is on behalf of a small group I am the moderator of called Quilter’s Apprentice.
    Some of our members are on dial-up or satellite internet connections and many times cannot take online classes. There are 5 of our members who have signed up for your Quilt Whisperer 101 class in November. Others would like to, however, due to connectivity are not able.
    MQResources indicates there will be no DVD’s available of this class. Other classes I have taken, for example ones from Longarm University with Cindy Roth, have sent DVD’s after the online class has been completed. These DVD’s are an excellent resource for future reference.
    Will there be DVD’s available from your website for purchase? You certainly would draw additional quilters to your classes, even those with connectivity problems…(not that you are having any problems filling your classes…AWESOME!)
    Thanks Carla, any information would be helpful and I will pass it on to our group members.
    Carol O

  6. Ok, I’m coming late to the party and maybe too late since I can’t find it on MQR and I got a reject at Paypal when I clicked the link on your blog. I will try again. I just got a tablet PC and am so looking forward to learning to draw on it in this class.

  7. Hi Carla,
    I would like to ask your permission to use your “Colonoscopy Chicken” cartoon in a little booklet I am making for my best friend’s memorial service. She just passed away from Colon cancer. She was writing a booklet about her journey with cancer to encourage other cancer patients and to urge others to get a colonoscopy. The chicken is perfect because she grew up on a chicken farm and had a collection of chickens. It would mean a lot, but I wanted your permission. Thank you for considering it. I need to get it to the printer soon so I would appreciate it if you could answer as soon as possible.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

