Crystal Silver Chainmaille Necklace

I have been experimenting with creative ways to use my ArtBeads Swarovski Crystals.   This is a work in progress, but my first thought was a chain maille, crystal combination.  So step one was making the sterling silver jump rings with my jump ring maker, then adding them together to make the bottom part of this necklace:

Carla chaincrystal necklace

Notice the peridot colored 4mm faceted bicone swarovski crystals?  They are peeking out from the inverted roundmaille pattern and add just a touch of color to the piece.  I found the sterling silver twisted chain while cleaning out my studio, so I thought it would maintain a neutral appearance- allowing the heavier bottom chain maille  & crystals to be the focal point.

If you don’t happen to have a jump ring maker lying around your studio, ArtBeads does sell jump ring maker supplies18g sterling silver jump rings 6mm in their online store.  Plus they have a nice selection of pliers, too.  My favorite brand is Lindstrom.

I first made a pendant to match the piece, but then discarded it.  I am toying now with another pendant, also playing with a fiber crocheted section to counter balance whatever I do below the chain/crystal section.  This may or may not work.  I will let you know.

My own style of jewelry is rather minimalist, so I wore the necklace above around town the last few days as is (like the photo above).  I prefer the shiny look- as opposed to oxidizing it  or adding a patina to change the metal appearance.  I loved wearing this necklace, as is, so it will be interesting whether I end up leaving it with a minimallist look, or change it up.

Thanks to for choosing me for their Blogging Designer Program.  It has been fun to make a jewelry piece out of the challenge supplies.  Keep watching, I may have another Swarovski crystal project in the works.

Hugs, Carla

4 thoughts on “Crystal Silver Chainmaille Necklace

Leave a Reply

