Pearl Pendant

I finally finished my pearl project, I am pleased to report!  My challenge was to create something original with this lovely strand of pearls I got from ArtBeads:

ArtBead.com Pearls

I decided to make a pendant piece which I could wear this winter:

CarlaPearl Pendant

The finished pendant necklace just glows with ambient lighting.  I used just five of the pearls as my focal point for the pendant.  3 strands of Japanese delica beads surrounding each pearl to add interest, and the peyote stitching adds to the overall piece, as well as functions as a beaded bail.  I purchased a strand of smaller olive pearls to use as the necklace.

pendant2

This is a beginner’s beading project, by the way.  All you need is a quick lesson in flat peyote in order to create it.  There is an elegence in the simplicity of the pendant, I believe.

Longtime Blog readers have noticed that I support ArtBeads.com the last few months.  That is because I am honored to be a part of the ArtBeads.com Blogging Designer’s program for the ArtBeads blog.

My first Project I designed for this program was the quilted and freeform beaded bag with the lovely copper enamel pendant.  My next project will feature some Swarovski Crystals that I showed the other day.   I love the challenge to create something original using a variety of materials.

Keep watching to see what I make for my next ArtBead challenge!  Hugs, Carla

25 thoughts on “Pearl Pendant

  1. Stunning!!! All of your beading work is gorgeous – but this one is my favorite – at least until I see your next piece.

  2. You have got to be kidding — a beginner project??? I love this one — it’s so beautiful!!! I have beads but have done nothing but simple one-strand necklaces and a few earrings. You are just beyond belief. :o}

  3. Yes, a beginner’s project. Barb, if we sat down together and I showed you, you would see how easy it is to create.

    Thank you, Carol, Vicki and Barb!

  4. Wow, that looks great! I never tried beading before but looking at your work and the links in your post I would love to try it. But I am afraid I don’t have the time for another hobby… 😦

    Beatrice in Germany

  5. Love the overall shape, and the 3 strands of beads over the pearls are GORGEOUS! They just look so right together.

    Just based on my personal aesthetic, a basic ultra long pearl necklace with the 3-strand treatment would be KILLER.

  6. Yes, I hold you fully responsible for the huge order of swarovskis I placed the other night! Those cosmic rings are gorgeous, even though I have not the slightest idea what I will do with them yet – other than admire! I expect they’ll eventually end up on a quilt.

  7. Carla, The pendant is simply beautiful. I have not done any jewelry making, although my friends have tried to encourage me to try. I was not much interested UNTIL I SAW YOUR PENDANT. Now THAT is something I would wear. Most of what I see around here is not something I would wear. I’m a winter palatte and those colors would go great with rich fall/winter colors. Thanks for inspiring me.

  8. WOW!! That is wonderful and there is no way on God’s green Earth that I could do that as a beginner….nope, wouldn’t happen.

    Karen A.

  9. Love the pearl pendant. You are truly gifted and creative. . Would you consider allowing me to purchase the pearl pendant instructions. Thank you for your consideration,,,

  10. Carla, this pendant is absolutely awesome! You are definitely a very talented artist.
    Someone asked you for the pattern. Your reply was that since it is a beginner’s project that she would be able to figure the pattern out just by looking at the pictures.
    I am a beginner & when I look at your beautiful pendant all I see are beads. Size? Pattern? Just some beautiful creation that can not be made by me because this beginner can not “read” the pattern.
    Any help in “reading” the pattern would be greatly appreciated. Bead sizes, bead colors, how to do this project. Little helps and tips like this would make me & others very happy campers.
    I do not get excited about too many things I see unless they are of exceptional guilty &/or beauty. Your pendant passes both criteria & is stunning. I would hate to not make it because I can’t “read” the pictures.
    Can you please help this 74 year old beginner? Please and Thank you!

    • Betty, I am in the Bahamas on my sailboat right now, so apologies for not being more help.

      I am one of those who do not create using patterns, I just tend to wing it. The body of the pendant above the pearls is made using a peyote stitch. I have a free tutorial with visuals for how to do that stitch. Look for my tutorial called “Undulations ” and you will see some similarities in that I vary the side of the beads from small to large.

      As for picking beads, start with your pearl selection, then you will pick the seed beads from that. Smallest is 15/0 and largest is 6/0.

      Let me know how comfy you are with peyote stitch. Wifi for me is hit or miss here, but I promise to write back.

Leave a Reply

