Weekend Plans & Fall Vacation

Thanks for all the well wishes!  I am on the mend, and I need to be 100% by the weekend.  Joe and I are headed back up to Lake Tahoe for our last sailing class  on Bareboat Chartering (ASA 104).  For this class, we sleep on the boat over the weekend and I need to provision all meals for the boat.  I am trying to decide what would be easy to fix, given the space limitations on the boat.  Btw, “bareboat chartering”  basically means you are acting as your own crew, as opposed to chartering a boat with a professional crew.

Why have we been taking these classes?   This summer, we have taken American Sailing Association classes 101, 103 & 104. These classes are the prerequisite for more advanced courses such as Offshore Passagemaking or Advanced Coastal Cruising.   The classes also allow us to rent a sailboat at a local sailing club now or bareboat charter all over the world.   Eventually, when Joe retires, we plan on traveling by boat in various locations and cruising around the Caribbean and across the South Pacific to New Zealand and Australia.


We have 2 trips planned now.  This fall, we are chartering a Jeanneau 36′ sailboat back to the British Virgin Islands again.  Last time we went with my sister and her husband and rented a 44′ catamaran.  This time, we wanted to try a monohull boat.  Then, next year sometime, we are  chartering down in the South Pacific around Tonga.

It is fun to take up a new interest.  The fact that Joe shares this with me is a huge bonus!

Enjoy your weekend, Carla

7 thoughts on “Weekend Plans & Fall Vacation

  1. The chicken I drew while on my last trip. It is autobiographical cartoon since I LOVE to snorkel and have my own gear. I even have prescriptions in my snorkel mask.

    Btw, have you ever seen those underwater instant cameras? Trust me, they do not work! I need to get a special waterproof case for my digital camera if I want to get decent pictures underwater.

  2. If you ever make it to Fremantle in Western Australia one day, let me know and I’ll come pick you up for some sightseeing.

    FYI, America’s Cup challenges were held off the coast of Fremantle in January/ February 1987.

    We’re quite a long way from New Zealand and Sydney though

    Veronica, thanks for the invite… on my to-do list is to travel around your country. Take care, Carla

  3. Hi Carla,
    I enjoyed reading though your blog and catching up with you in this way. Your quilts are beautiful and boating? Wow!
    Remember Wayne of VivaLasVegasStamps? My daughter works for him updating his catalog every year. And the world continues to spin!

    Ginny! What a treat to see your post and have you visit! Of course I remember Wayne.. he still carries a few of my designs in rubber- at least the ones that survived over the years! I sent you a facebook post this morning to see how you are. We need to catch up!! C

Leave a Reply

