Back from Tahoe!!

Just drove home from Tahoe this morning.  We live less than an hour away, but it is sure a nice mini-vacation spot!

Joe and I spent all day on Saturday and Sunday on the water sailing. After dozens of tacks, jibes, man overboard drills, docking and mooring practice, I am happy to say that both Joe and I got a 100% on the written test and certainly passed the class.

It was tiring!  Depending where you are sailing and weather conditions, sailing is usually a leisurely sport.  Not for this class- we worked our tail ends off and everyone was tired and found new muscles they didn’t think they had.

We splurged and stayed at the Embassy Suites.  Loved it- except we felt the $25 per night forced valet parking was a bit steep.  You expect it when staying in large cities such as New York, Washington DC, Dublin, or London, but not in So. Lake Tahoe.

Now to get back to quilting and making things.  I am starting a few new projects as well as working on some older projects.  What are YOU working on??

Take care, Carla

10 thoughts on “Back from Tahoe!!

  1. current projects:

    1. doing the pieced blocks from Beth Ferrier’s 2004 “Moondance” BOM so I can be able to do the hand-applique flowers as my next Forever Project.

    2. waiting on border fabric for a “just can’t cut it” focus fabric quilt

    3. everything else on my To Do List 🙂

  2. After you last adventure who would have thought you needed lessons! Welcome back, I so look forward to reading your blog.

    I am working on another quilt for McCall’s quilting magazine that was created by a local designer. I hope to have it finished tonight. I can’t wait to show it off, it’s such a pretty quilt.

    Have fun.

  3. I’m working at staying cool …. Portland is 100 degrees, with 56 percent humidity.
    When the cool weather arrives next week, we’ll see what these old bones can do…..

  4. Technical question…that might be worth a post for an answer, depends on how you think.

    I have a friend who has an old hand quilted, hand pieced very very gruby lovely quilt….how does she get that washed?

  5. OH how I envy you spending time at Tahoe! I grew up in Truckee and spent a LOT of time at Tahoe and Donner Lake as a child – nothing like the smell of that clean, pine-scented air! MMmmmmm…….

  6. Glad to hear you survived the sailing drills. I can’t wait to see the Whole” finished purse.

    Thanks to your blog inspirations, I am working on a PURPLE Zinger selvedge quilt, 20 selvedge potholders for small Christmas favors at our annual quilt luncheon that I host each year, AND the cute tote bag in the McCalls new issue that I just HAVE to make with the leftover selvedges that I still have. My 47 project’s UFO list never seems to shrink in numbers. Wonder why????


Leave a Reply

