Use the Muse 2 update

Remember I signed up for a challenge called “Use the Muse 2?”  I’ve been working like crazy since the deadline is next Saturday.   Basically, the challenge works like this:  You enter by purchasing the packet of beads- along with the “Muse” piece.  You then use the muse to plan and create your jewelry or accessories.

I cannot reveal my muse until later, but I can tell you what I am doing.  I have decided I need a new small bag – think jewelry accessory in a certain color to match the muse.  It is both decorative and functional.  I also decided to use my own free tutorials to create my item.

So I started with some cool fabric that looks like this:

muse fabris copy

I cut it into strips,

fabric strips

then crocheted the strips together to make a purse (Fabric Crochet Purse Tutorial).  Here is the base:

crochet asscc

I next quilted some fabric freehand style :

quilted fabric

Now I am finishing it off, then plan to add some freeform beading (Freeform Peyote Beading Tutorial)  to  the front, using the muse as my inspiration.

freeform bead1

Right now, I have just begun the beading part of the project, but i will show you it as soon as I finish.    Hmmm… think I will make my deadline??

Hugs, Carla

5 thoughts on “Use the Muse 2 update

  1. Your beading work is incredible! Want to embellish my mermaid quilt when I’m finished????!!!! (kidding…but sure you’d do a better job than I will with the embellishing!)

    I’m also in love with the fabric you show that you started with. It’s so dreamy looking. Thanks for the tutorials. I will have to check them out!

  2. Did you ever hear back from Scarlett? I love your piece, and
    I, too, entered. However, my necklace isn’t nearly as beautiful as your purse project. I did enjoy the contest, but would think we’d hear something back from our entries. Even Artbeads has absolutely nothing on their site, and they promoted it (which is how I found out about it in the first place!) – you’d think someone would know something…

Leave a Reply

