Happy 4th of July!

july 4

Happy 4th to you all!  Hope you all are having a fun day bar-b-que-ing!

On a non-holiday specific topic, I wanted to give a big shout out to Fulvia, who kindly helped me solve my sewing machine problem.

This hint is for all you Janome 6500 users who may be frustrated by a shifting bobbin case- which then stops the machine cold when the needle goes thru the plastic bobbin case.  Not good.

Fulvia sent me a link to Melody’s blog where she illustrated a fix.  In the spirit of helping someone else, I will show you how to fix the problem:

Here is a picture of the exposed Janome 6500 bobbin case, with the red dots all lined up nicely.   Notice the location of the screw- which adjusts the metal spring so that the bobbin case does not shift counter clockwise and jam your machine:

6500 bobbin case fix

Don’t be afraid… just simply adust it into place by turning the screw.  Nothing will happen, trust me!  Just tighten it enough to acheive the goal of keeping the bobbin case from shifting pass the spring.   That is all you need to do.

Viola!  It solved my problem!  Thank you to Fulvia!!

Happy day to you all!

4 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July!

  1. Happy Fourth of July to you, Miss Carla!

    I had a Janome that gave me a lot of headaches. Not the same model as yours, though. After bringing it back to be serviced 3 times in just 6 months, I finally traded it in along with a Viking for a true gem, a Baby Lock Decorator’s Choice! I did love that Janome, which I bought to use for domestic free motion quilting. But I was spending way too much time adjusting it, and sometimes it didn’t even work. Sometimes I may only have 20 minutes to sew…I can’t spend that kind of time worrying about adjustments everytime I want to work!

  2. Thank you so much Miss Carla….I have a 6500 and have not enjoyed that issue very much. I went upstairs just now and tightened that screw. Can’t believe how happy I am right now. I love the internet. You stumble upon the best stuff. Wonderful blog too by the way. You seem like a very fun interesting person. Loved your longarm tips too.

  3. Thank you so much, Carla! I have the Janome 7700. In the past year, I have had my machine into the shop two times and replaced the bobbin case twice. Each time it was in the shop, I had to wait for two to three weeks for the repairman to adjust and return it. So frustrating. I have tried googling the problem several times. I was about to give up when I came upon your site and the solution. Except for this problem, I love my machine. Now, I am back to trouble free sewing. I can’t thank you enough!

Leave a Reply

