Good News!

My youngest son is moving to the East Bay area of San Francisco, this will be his first second time living away from home.    The first time was when he went to The Woodhall School in CT for high school.  Anyhow, my son will be starting a wonderful program that is geared to his unique needs.

I received the list for setting him up in his apartment.  Luckily, I have been saving furniture and picking up many of  the items he will need over the last 6 months.  Still, I have been shopping my heart out to buy him things like a microwave, a vacuum cleaner,  new sheets, towels, cleaning supplies, etc.

This will be a wonderful transition point in his life.  His apartment is just a block away from the Bart Station, with its the subway system, plus he can finally live on his own.  Anyway, I have today and tomorrow to get his list filled, so I’m out the door again off to the stores.

Packing for my trip- hmmmm….. this is harder than is looks.  I am having trouble trying to decide which beads to leave behind.  I need to get tough and not bring the whole blasted bead stash!!  I’m thinking I had better leave some yarn behind, too.   LOL, I know where my priorities are!!

Books:  I don’t mention this very often, but I am a voracious reader.  I guess I should mention from time to time what book I am reading.  I am just beginning Dewey, which is about a cat that lived its life in a library.  Only problem with animal stories- they always die in the end and make me cry!

Anyone read a good book lately that want to share?

13 thoughts on “Good News!

  1. Some of my recent favorite books:
    Innocent Traitor (about Lady Jane Grey)
    The Rebels of Ireland (very long, but excellent)
    Emily Post (a biography of a very interesting woman)
    Girl With a Pearl Earring

    That’s great news for your son!

  2. What a wonderful thing for your son. I hope it is a great experience.

    I got a Kindle 2 for mother’s day. Just haven’t had time to download anything yet to read!

  3. I’ve been looking for a good read to distract me from some things right now, myself. But the last really good one I read was “Dumas Key” by Stephen King. I don’t know that I’d recommend it if you are going to be out on a boat (laughing)! It certainly got me through a bad bout of the flu when I read it….took my mind right off my own misery!

    If you haven’t read it, “The Picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar Wilde is an excellent read. There’s a supernatural component to it, too, if you like that sort of thing.

    I started “Murder By Serpents (the mystery quilt)”by Barbara Graham, but didn’t get through it. (I think it was just me at the time, but I couldn’t get into it enough to continue .)

    Speaking of books, I just bought that “Meandering Magic” on your recommendation here on your blog!

  4. I can’t believe how much you pack into your life. You are always so busy.

    A great book to read is “A Friend Like Henry” A remarkable true story of an autistic boy and the dog that unlocked his world. Author is the boys mother Nuala Gardner.

  5. I just finished reading “One Second After” by William R. Forstchen. One that I pretty much read straight through. Be careful with this one, hubby went out and bought a gun, and lots of survival supplies after reading it!

    The other book I just finished is “Foundation” by Mercedes Lackey. I was so excited to get this book, that I ordered it twice, if someone wants the other copy, let me know.


  6. That is so amazing for your son. Incredibly good news when a situation like that appears and is well put together. Is he excited?

    The bead stash? What the heck, bring it all….it’s a big boat. Well, maybe not the best advice, but what the heck.

    Books? You’re helping me out…..

  7. Yes, he is excited! Change is very challenging for him, but he is dealing with it so far.

    I’ll look for the Gardner book, it sounds interesting. Which reminds me… in 2001, I tried to get a companion dog for my son, so I call all the non-profits which provide trained dogs to assist people with disabilities. They all said no. 8 years later, and now they have trained companion dogs. I guess I was ahead of the curve.

    Thanks for the other suggestions, too.

  8. Right now I am reading A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson. It was highly recommended by the book store owner. She is a wonderful lady and is closing shop. Every book she has recommended has been great. Another woman at work saw the book on my desk and commented that she loved the book as well. It is about a man and a high school friend who hike the Appalachia Trail. So far it is quite funny and I can’t wait to pick it back up again.


  9. How wonderful for Joseph and for You and your DH. Nothing is more important than knowing your children are happy. I hope that he is able to adjust and does splendidly!

    I always have to have a book to read — it’s my way to relax and forget the world…I’ve enjoyed books by Karen White, Ann Patchett, Beth Gutcheon (Leeway Cottage and More than you know). I’d have to do some research — I read so many the titles just don’t stick with my diminished memory issues. :o} Currently I’m reading Jeffrey Archer, As the Crow Flies and enjoying it. I’ve read at least 3-4 others — Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less is excellent by him. I’ll try to remember to send you a note when I read one that’s particularly good — you do the same.

  10. I recently read “A Single Thread” by Marie Bostwick. It is a fictional quilting novel – and it was wonderful! The sequel is coming out very shortly, too!

  11. Its been out for a while, but I loved “Water for Elephants.” Very well written book and an interesting look at the circus lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

