Artist Profile: Tracee Dock

While visiting my father and relatives in Springfield, MO, I visited the local bead store to see what beads needed to come home with me on the plane.  A bead artist stopped by the store  to check on inventory and somehow we started talking.  Her name is Tracee Dock, and I was very impressed with the clay beads she makes.  Don’t take my word for it, check out her web page.


Tracee makes a variety of clay items for jewelry and bead artists to incorporate in their work.  She works in series- from whimsical to artsy.

I’m taking two items I purchased with me to work with while on my trip.  Here is what I bought:


A wonderful variety to choose from, don’t you think?  Here is the button and a pendant in a slightly larger format:



Tracee’s work has been published – including a recent cover of  Stringing, a bead magazine, and can be found in beads stores in 4 states (CA, MO, KS, and NE) or online at her new etsy shop.

On a personal note, Tracee is married  to Paul, and lives just outside of Springfield, MO.  She is the proud parent of 2 daughters, now grown, and one beautiful grand-daughter,  Allison.

The next time I visit my dad, I will arrange to meet Tracee  for lunch and/or hopefully she will show me her kiln and studio set up!   In the meatime, I hope you enjoyed meeting this artist and seeing her work!

6 thoughts on “Artist Profile: Tracee Dock

  1. I’ll be really interested to see how you use the beads and pendant — very unusual and creative.

  2. Hey Carla, I’m from Springfield too!! What a small world. My parents still live there and my brother and his wife. My son and his family just live outside of Springfield. Next time you are in the area….drop by Kansas City and call me!!

    • Hi MaryBeth!
      Noticed you note to Carla re: your SW MO hometown status! I just got home from a weekend in KC! My oldest daughter, Aubree lives there and I was up for the Bead Blast in Overland Park as well as the Brookside Art Fair. It was a chilly weekend, but a good one! KC is MY home town, but I have been in Springfield since ’79!

      If you’re a beader you might see my product at Beadazzler in Overland Park.

      It’s a small world!
      My husband went to highschool about you?

      tracee dock

  3. Wow! Those beads are very cool. Can’t wait to see what you do with them.

    It seems I collect bead magazines. Don’t know why. I don’t bead. (I have tried a tiny bit of it, but don’t consider myself a beader.) But I LOVE reading about beadwork and always think…maybe someday.

    In the meantime, I live vicariously through you! LOL!

Leave a Reply

