Diversion from Creativity

Today, I’m taking a break from my usual creative life to do something outside my comfort bubble.  A University Professor that I met through my friend, Faith, has asked me to take part in a panel discussion for her students.  The subject matter is Special Education and I am participating in my role as a longtime mother/advocate.

It is being televised for telecommuter students, so of course, what do I think about?  Of course, what shall I wear that will look good on camera!!  LOL Ok, I admit it, I’m vain!

Next thing I need to do is condense my key points to just a few items.  What is the message I want to share so that no other parent of a special needs parent relives what I did.

Faith did this last semester, so I figure it is my turn now.  LOL!  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Regards, Carla

11 thoughts on “Diversion from Creativity

  1. wear blue. The camera loves blue

    And tell parents to stand up for their children. As a high school teacher, I don’t see the parents fight for their children enough. These kids need someone in their corner to believe in them. All children do better when they have a strong family support at home. It doesn’t matter what end of the learning spectrum them are on.

  2. Hello again, just got home. My legs ache from the high heels!! The panel discussion went well, the audience were mainstream teachers, special ed teachers, school Psychology students, etc.

    On the panel with me was a father of a special needs boy, Me- as the mom of a son with special needs, a Grandmother- who is also a principal, and a class student who has a sibling. All the us had something in common- a loved one with a significant and serious disability, requiring 1:1 instruction and medical or behavior aides.

    I used to be a very strong advocate for my kids before they aged out of the system at age 22, also for other children. By the end of it all, I was pretty burnt out and turned to quilting.

    This is how I first met Faith- we were both advocates.

    I agree, more parents should take the time to learn how to successfully and appropriately advocate for their kids. Sadly, many are ill equipped and poorly educated, plus may be overwhelmed by the day to day realities of raising a child with a disabilities and working.

    On a bright note, I got a nice bottle of wine from the class as a thank you. LOL

  3. What a fabulous thing that the university is doing, glad this is something they are taking seriously, and that they are taking the views of the families seriously as well. You sound like you felt it didn’t go well….

    glad you got the bottle of wine anyway.

  4. Hi Oreneta, Actually, it went very well. What you are probably picking up on is how difficult it was for me to talk to 150 or so strangers about a very painful chapter in my life.

    I felt I did good, I only choked up once… when I was talking about the feelings parents have when they learn that there is something different about their child- and come to terms about what I call the loss of the dream. It is an on-going, lifelong process. Hugs, C

  5. It is really amazing for me to discover that you are an advocate and a mother for special needs children. I also am a mother of a boy with cerebral palsy and I struggle a lot for him to cope with school demands and being integrated among the rest of children.
    I have learned a lot form the internet sice these activities are in very incipient stage here.
    I really admire such a talented person like you putting so much soul into this. And yes, it is an on-going, lifelong learning process.
    Thank you for sharing this to us.

  6. Bless you Carla. Being the parent of three who were lead poisoned (plus other toxins) as children I understand the anguish of not understanding (as we did not find out till many years later that the people who built our house — built it on a toxic dump), of trying to help them, the frustration, and the heartache. The loss of the dream and the ongoing pain, I understand that as well. What a wonderful thing to do for all those who participated and listened. To reach out to others, even tho it’s painful, and share to help them cope is such a giving thing and so typical of you my dear friend.

  7. Awe I can relate… I know too well about how it felt to talk to the group… more intimate than i expected though.. sounds like you had the same father and grandmother that i spoke with. Good for you! just think of the impression you made on the class. I choked up all the way through… i think that lets these people know the pain is real. Send me an email.. How is Paula?

  8. As a parent of a special needs son and a quilter, I hear you. Been there..done that. It is always nice to educate those who educate our children. I hope it was helpful to them and other parents. I am always upset that the first budget cuts are usually to the special ed classes and staff. I guess we don’t complain enough! And don’t get me started on the use of the word”retard/retarded”. And isn’t it funny that the only group that is allowed to be made fun of in jokes and on tv is the disabled.

  9. Faith, yes, the same 2… the grandmother was more emotional than I, but I’ve had more time to deal with it, y’know? Paula looks great as always and wants to get together with you and I.

    Cecilia, I agree, I wish I had a dime for every time I corrected someone, “excuse me, the proper term is developmentally delayed.”

Leave a Reply

