What’s Up?

It’s a rainy weekend here on the west coast.  Oscar, who is my favorite kitty, is keeping me company while I write this.  He lays partly on me and partly on my laptop, purring very loudly.  I love when he does this.

I’ve decided I want to make an oscar quilt.  This picture of him will be my inspiration:


Quilting Class: Today I had my quilting class, so a big hello to any of my students who decided to see what my blog looks like.  I told them lots of wild stories, and they were a wonderful bunch.  I’ve been getting lucky lately with all my classes.  People I like and enjoy hanging out with seem to sign up, so it doesn’t feel like work.  I can’t wait until they finish their quilts so you can see how wonderful and different they turn out.

Opportunity Quilt: The guild opportunity quilt is coming along nicely.  I’m almost half way done, and while I hit a few technical snafu’s with the black fabric, I’m dealing with it.  This quilt has been a learning experience for me- namely that all black quilting fabric are NOT created equal.  I’m not sure of the brand, but it is the stretch-i-est I have ever seen or worked with.  You look at it and it seems to stretch, I kid you not.  It also acts funny tension-wise and misbehaves at every turn.

It was acting so funny that I ran an experiment.  I took a triangle bias piece and gently pulled on the ends.  The straight line actually turned into a curve, it was pretty extreme for the amount of pressure applied.

My end goal for this quilt is that the viewer will not know that I had issues with the fabric and called it numerous bad names while I worked on it.  LOL!   As soon as I am done, I promise to share pictures for you.  In case anyone want to buy tickets for it, I will pass that info along to0.  For the non-quilting readers, Guild Opportunity Quilts are raffle ticket quilts and how the guild’s earn money for various causes (charity projects, ongoing education, etc.)

Have a wonderful weekend!  Hugs, Carla

7 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. I’m delighted you’re making an Oscar quilt and will be waiting patiently to see the results. We have a kitty that looks a lot like Oscar named Bonnie. Although she got us up at 4:00 am this morning wanting attention, we still love her enormously. 🙂 The picture you have of Oscar is terrific, he makes a great model.

    Sherri G in Kentucky

  2. Oscar could be my Klinger Kitty’s twin. Don’t you just love those big green eyes up against the blue-grey fur. Who could resist?

  3. I found your blog from the comic book board tutorial, and I just had to comment on your kitty. Oscar looks like my George’s twin brother! And coincidentally, we have an Oscar kitty too. Thanks for the tutorial!

  4. KK and Anna, aren’t we lucky to have Russian Blue kitties? They have such nice personalities and are very loving. Anyway, i plan to start this quilt this summer when I get back from the boat trip. Hmmm… maybe sooner.

  5. Carla, I too have a Oscar look-alike that we call Smoky. We named her because at the time we didn’t know if it was a she or he, so my creative husband thought Smoky fit the bill. Your Oscar looks like a real animal model. You should send that picture into one of the pet food manufacturers and Oscar would be a star just like his momma. Thanks for the photo. Dar

  6. Grandma – I want a quilt. Please make me one!


    Wow, Jack!!! You are one smart grandson… typing already! Actually, Grandma is making you a turtle quilt right now, and you are bound to get more in the coming years. Love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

