Show Cartoon

I haven’t ever shown this cartoon yet, but it does relate to the theme of quilt shows and judging.   This was inspired by a joke told by a very talented machine quilter, so I dedicate it to her:

For non-quilters, a “ditch” in a quilt is where the fabric is sewn together. A wholecloth quilt has no ditches since it is, in fact,  a whole piece of fabric.  For the judge to write that is just plain silly, imho!  LOL

I’m almost organizing my pictures from the quilt show so you may see other quilter’s work for a change.   Hugs, Carla

8 thoughts on “Show Cartoon

  1. I knew keeping those stitches neatly in the ditch was precision work, but it must be sooo much harder if there isn’t a ditch to keep you on line!
    Great cartoon!
    Judy B

  2. Hi Carla!

    I love the cartoon and would like to ask a big favor! I am in charge of our quilt show program which is going to the printer on Monday. Would you grant permission to include your cartoon in the program? The show is for West Houston Quilters Guild

    Congrats on the multiple ribbons on this last quilt show.

    Hi Betty, How are you?? I sent you an email. Thanks for the congrats, too. Hugs, Carla

  3. Sometimes judges comments make it pretty darned obvious that they really only glanced at the quilt. In my local group we compare notes and there is usually a “standard comment” given by the judge that literally everyone gets………………guess the judges are not aware that we compare notes because sometimes the comment just does not fit the quilt in any way manner or form………………..Ha! I love your cartoon!!!!!

  4. This not only applies to quilt judging.. i have seen this kind of thing in other areas of life… think IEP’s and IPP’s… LOL

  5. Carla,

    I don’t see how to contact you privately so I will ask here: have you ever used a mid-arm machine and, if so, which do you recommend/not? Thank you for your time.

    Fulvia, I will contact you privately. C

  6. Hi Carla – I absolutely love the cartoon and am in awe of the quilting of the wedding ring quilt. Incredibly beautiful!

    I am a sales rep in the Pacific Northwest and am starting up a newsletter for my customers. Would you mind if I used your cartoon? I would be happy to credit you with your name and web page address.

    Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

