Cowboy Quilt Again

I’ve lost count on how many 3-D pinwheel quilts I have quilted in my life.  This one is a duplicate of the baby quilt seen here.  This quilt will be quilted very simply and similar to the quilt finished last year, however, this one is for a brand new baby boy!

and the overall shot of the quilt on my longarm quilting table:

My friend wanted this quilt to be quilted exactly like the last one.  A quick shout out to Carol Kimball, the originator of the barbed wire quilting design seen in the thin brown fabric section.  (thanks, Carol!)

I’m almost finished with it.  All I need to do is finish the barbed wire section, then quilt in the baby’s name and birthdate.  By the way, I think the quilt design is found in one of Mary Ellen Hopkin’s books, but I’m not sure which one.

I love quilting for friends!  Next up is one for my dear friend, Lori.  Lori, I’ll load it, then I’ll start when I get back from my trip.

Metal Beads: I made these metal beads the other day in class with the etched quilting design copper from this play day at Faith’s.  I plan on finishing these with fiber embellishments:

That’s all from my studio!  Take care, Carla

9 thoughts on “Cowboy Quilt Again

  1. Hey – didn’t expect to see my name on your blog – but thank you for the shout! The quilt is wonderful! I have enjoyed all of your metal work and beads are spectacular!

  2. This quilt is amazing! Do you know if there is a pattern available or a tutorial about how to make 3D pinwheels?

    I think the pattern may have come from one of Mary Ellen Hopkin’s books, not sure which one. If you stare at the block long enough and play with 3 pieces of fabric, you can figure out the piecing of each pinwheel “wheel.” The pinwheel “wheel” is the size of the block, folded in half and pinned between the background fabric, selvage to the top.

    I will ask my friend what the sizes are of each pinwheel component. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Beautiful work all the way around! Thanks for mentioning my graduation…it was hard work and grad school is even more difficult! I’ve been challenged multiple times since the beginning of September with each of my boys being sick and/or hurt, soccer practices and business trips….but I continue to put one foot in front of the other and keep on going…I’m the female version of the energizer bunny!


    Karen A.

  4. The bead work is beautiful…love those a ton…are they closed right over so they cannot slip off the string.

    Yes, the beads are fully closed. I will be adding fibers to the metal for a finished look.

  5. Cool, cool, cool! Love those swirls….
    I’m so jealous that you are going to Kauai.
    Cara will be thrilled to see what you do with the scales!

    have fun….

Leave a Reply

