Searching for River Stones

It was a beautiful day here in Gold County, CA, in the Sierras. Since I couldn’t take a drive to the ocean to hunt for beach glass, I did the next best thing… hunt for river stones!

But not just any river stones, they needed to be the perfect size, color, shape and texture to use in my metal arts class. I have a couple of ideas in mind, but in the meantime, here are my rocks drying after a good washing:

The glass bottle in the middle is filled with sand from the American River, set in the Gold Country of California. Here is how light/dark the sand is compared to 2 others in my collection:

I like the idea of using river stones, tumbled smooth by Mother Nature, in my art. Sure beats buying precious and semi-precious stones while I am learning, too! See? I’m both practical and appreciative of the world around us!!

Anyhow, Joe and I have had an enjoyable Sunday. We visited our local farmer’s market for fresh veggies, then took the drive to Salmon Falls. After that we went out for lunch and now are working in the garden. All in all, a lovely day!

Remind me to catch a picture of our new stray kitty that is roaming around our house now. We think some unfeeling cad abandoned this poor kitten, so Joe has adopted it and feeds it cream and cat food every day. Joe is a soft touch! Now he wants to spay or neuter it, since all our animals get fixed. If it were up to me, we would drive it down to the cat shelter, the one where no kitties are put to death. For the time being, I pick up cream at the grocery store.

Take Care! Carla

3 thoughts on “Searching for River Stones

  1. Hi Carla,

    I never gave sand too much thought. Now that you are sharing your collection, it is quite interesting how their color and I’m sure their texture vary. Now anytime that I am near the ocean, I will look for sea glass to pass along (mind you it is not all that often..)


Leave a Reply

