Hello from Missouri

Our flights went well, I am pleased to have won my “Packing Light” challenge!!  This is proof positive that a woman can do anything if she puts her mind to it.🙂

Unfortunately, my dad is still having medical issues related to his last surgery.  He had to go back to the hospital (3rd or 4th time since his discharge) the day Joe and I flew in, and yesterday needed to have some CT scans and other tests.

To help my father out, my older brother came over, and the 3 of us started tackling the yardwork.  My dad has a HUGE beautiful yard, I’ll take some pictures and show you later on.  His big beautiful house is set on 10 acres, fully landscaped, and so I spent a few hours just picking up limbs and branches from their last storm, then while the two guys mowed, I stayed busy weed whacking.  Today, it will take me a few more hours, but I think I will finish.  

 I may have mentioned that my engineer husband can fix anything.  I call him the King of Home Appliance and Auto Repair, the man is a genius.  He is busy helping my dad by fixing all the odd jobs around the house.  My dad has this very cool indoor swimming pool (again, watch for pictures later) with a Tiki Bar, so hopefully Joe will fix the sensor so we can swim each day.

Admittedly, it is good that we can help my dad out, especially since he is under the weather still.  Having an ailing parent when you live far away can be challenging.

My only complaint about Missouri are the ticks and chiggers.  Even though I covered myself with enough DEET to deter anything that crawls, I still managed to attract some chiggers.

I brought some beading work with me, so I hope to spend some time creating some lovely bead art during my visit.

Back to weed trimming….   Hugs, Carla



9 thoughts on “Hello from Missouri

  1. I hope your dad is getting better Carla. You picked up the limbs and the radio says storms in your area over the fourth. I wish I had time to come to Springfield as I am just 160 miles from there but unfortunately I don’t. Have a great visit and don’t take too many Missouri chiggers back to California. lol

  2. Carla – as you know my dad’s family lives very near there, so I can REALLY understand the tick and chigger problem!

    Hope your dad gets to feeling better really soon. Just having you there will perk him up considerably!

  3. Hi Carla,

    Happy to hear the flights went well. Also hope your father feels better soon so that he can enjoy some time with your and your family.

    Every time you mention your husband, I’m so envious. Well, ok – perhaps the time he cut the tree down and just missed the house may have been one of those times…..but overall he sounds wonderful.

    Have fun!


  4. oh Carla, I am so sorry that your dad is facing another health challenge. I wish you strength and energy to get through it all and hope dad is back to himself asap.
    Love and hugs…

  5. Sorry to hear your Dad is still unwell.

    I’m glad to hear you got there safe and sound and that together with your brothers you are able to help your Dad with some heavy chores. I can’t wait to see the pictures it sounds like a lovely place to be.

  6. Welcome back to Missouri Carla. Be sure and leave all the ticks and chiggers here. We don’t want any leaving our ticky and chiggery state.

    I hope your Dad gets better soon.

    Judy in MO
    (60 miles sw of Springfield)

Leave a Reply

