Carl’s Caribbean Marinade

To help get you in the mood for a Caribbean recipe, I decided to post a picture I took last year while traveling:

Yes, the sand is really that white! Right after I snapped this picture, I swam to the shore and went shell and beach glass hunting. Oops, I’m supposed to give you Carl’s recipe, not lose myself in a vacation photo. Here it is:

Carl’s Caribbean Marinade:

Throw into a food processor or a blender:

1 onion, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

1/2 jalapeno cut up (minus the seeds)

handful of cilantro, basil, cut up and thrown into the blender/processor

sm. ginger, skin removed and chopped up

1/2 garlic, chopped

4 limes (first heated in microwave for 1 minute to extract the juice)


Add the above ingredients into your food processor or blender. Turn the appliance on to your favorite setting until it blends like a lovely green smoothie. It is now ready to add to your meat of choice- I’ve enjoyed it with both chicken and pork. Marinade for 12-24 hours before grilling. Yum!

Carl, born and raised on the Caribbean Island of St. Vincent, is the one who taught me the the lime trick: To effectively extract the lime juice, simply throw the lime into the microwave for 1 minute. Pull out the lime, cut in half, then squeeze. You, too, will be amazed by how well it works.

Carl also uses the squeezed lime half to rub the meat with. He will also save one or two limes to naturally cleanse and disinfection the sink and workspace before disposing of them down the drain to make that fresh smelling, too.

I have served this for both family and guests. They loved it. I served it with curry rice, salad and a vegetable. Nice well rounded meal that you can make ahead for feeding guests.

7 thoughts on “Carl’s Caribbean Marinade

  1. The marinade sounds wonderful but the beach looks BETTER! I would rather have the beach thank you very much!

    Great idea for the limes…never thought of that one before. I typically just roll them under my palms on the counter top…kind of squashing them some. I suppose this works for lemons also.

    That Carl…he is a thrifty (or is that frugal) fellow…cooks, cleans, disinfects and makes the disposal smell pretty all with a couple of limes. What a guy!

    Thanks for sharing.


  2. Carl is a great guy! He is an engineer, plus in his final class in law school. We enjoy getting together with he and his wife.

    Yes, works for lemons, too. Works like a charm!

  3. I’m always looking for a different way to flavor chicken. I’m definitely going to give this a try! You know I’m a woosie, though. How hot does the jalapeno make this sauce?

  4. Pingback: Marinade « My favourite cooking links

Leave a Reply

