Trip to the County Fair

Today, we took time out for Father’s Day to visit the fair. Of course, we had to check up on how my quilts looked and also the crochet pieces.🙂

**Btw, this is the very first year that machine quilters are recognized on each quilt in the fair and the name displayed prominently. In previous years, even if we won best machine quilting or other awards, the quilter’s name was left off the quilt. I’m glad they are changing with the times…

2 of my quilts entered were in the front first row, right next to each other:

Here are some more:

I had a few others there that people entered, but these were my ribbon winners. My collage purse was behind glass in a nice display space. I went to the crochet section and my freeform scarf was there:

My scarf earned a 2nd place- which surprised me. The head person said the judge liked it. My fabric collage purse also earned a 3rd. I don’t know about you, but I like that frog, don’t you?

County Fairs are pretty fun, we love looking at the 4H animals- the chickens, bunnies, pigs, goats, etc. One cute little girl asked me if I wanted to hold her baby goat….Ahhhhhhhh, that was sweet of her, though I passed.

Hope you are having a nice Father’s Day!! I’m cooking some marinated chicken using Carl’s recipe. Our friend, Carl, who hails from the Caribbean Island of St. Vincent is slowly teaching me how to cook some good and yummy recipes. If you are interested, I’ll share his terrific marinade recipe you you like.

Enjoy your day…. Carla

13 thoughts on “Trip to the County Fair

  1. Congrats on the awards! It’s great to see that your county fair is recognizing the quilter(s), times are starting to change for the better! My local county fair is still leaving this info off the quilts when they are displayed, but i am told they ask for this info when the quilt is entered. It’s a shame they still don’t list all the info, but i don’t give up hope they will one day take the hint that we to deserve some credit to!

    Congrats on the Scarf as well!

  2. I just adore that bottom quilt…it simpy glows….they are all gorgeous, but the red and black…mmmmm

    and yes please on the recipe! I’m always on the lookout for more…..especially as all my cookbooks are ona different continent.

  3. Congratulations on all your ribbons! What a haul! That frog was kind of cute sitting there.

    Please share Carl’s recipe…I’m bored with the same old same old stuff.

    Have a good one.


  4. Congratulations on the ribbons they were well deserved! There must have been some other stunning quilting entered for the Double Wedding ring to get a 2nd place — or was it competing against another of your quilts?

    Congrats again.

  5. Thank you for all your touching comments! Let them go to my head?? Hahahaha! I’m still thinking I just got lucky! At least I will receive constructive feedback so I know where to improve.

    OK, after my running around today (gotta take Amy back to the audiologist for a hearing aide check-up- which is an hour away) I’ll post my favorite Carl marinade.

  6. I’m glad you posted the pictures — quilts hanging are some much better to view. Look at all those ribbons — not a surprise tho!!

    I want the recipe! Barb

  7. Congratulations on your wins/ribbons! I still love that Carolina Lily and also the Double Wedding Ring quilt/quilting. Hope Amy has a good report on her hearing aide check-up.

Leave a Reply

