Slashed Poppy quilt

Here’s a poppy quilt I pieced for myself one day when I was feeling like I never get to piece quilt fabric together. Haven’t named it yet… the colors appeal to me though. It is loaded and ready to quilt now:

I started with a large piece of the poppy fabric. I laid it out, slashed it, then added black strips to the mix. Some pieces I swapped with colorful batiks. Threw on an interesting border and I’m done. Now I loaded it for the machine quilting. I added an interesting border just for the heck of it.

While I was hunting for supplies, I came across a mini quilted top that I did a while ago. Actually, I was just doodling:

That’s all for now Just click on the image to see it better.

11 thoughts on “Slashed Poppy quilt

  1. love the poopy quilt, and the “doodles” are fabulous!!!!!

    It must feel good to work on your own quilt…..I’ve made the pledge to only do customer quilts 4 days a week…the rest is for me! It is very freeing.

    Poopy… poppy, close enough!! LOL Thanks for the good laugh!! Yes, it feels good to work on my own stuff. I have 4 quilts almost pieced and ready to quilt.

  2. Love your doodles! Way cool with the poppy quilt, I can’t wait to see it quilted in that awesome Carla style.

  3. Oh Carla, your “doodling” is just gorgeous, makes me want to get back on the machine and refresh my skills! And your slashed quilt top looks super-fun, I may try that on my retreat. Fun, fun, FUN!

  4. I may have to try the slashed up poppy idea on a piece of fabric I have here that I couldn’t figure out what to do with. I really like it! Someday, I hope to be able to “doodle” like you do.😀

  5. Pingback: Last Day to Enter « Feathered Fibers

Leave a Reply

