Wednesday WIP

Good Morning!! Thought I would show you what I am working on today. I took time out from my collage spring purse to do some quilting for a friend. It is a sunflower theme quilt and my friend wanted large sunflowers in the body of the quilt. I drew the sunflower sketch for inspiration:

Next up is some Neocolor II fabric experiment. I first was introduced to this water soluble artist crayon back in the mid 1990’s, when I would use it to color my eraser carvings on paper. Nowadays, I wanted to try it on fabric to see how it would do. Here is the before:

and when I add a watercolor touch:

It is easier to control on paper, obviously. I’m going to heat set it, then see how much bleed I get out of the colors when I wash it.

Next project this morning is my quilting cartoon. As I was falling asleep last night, I thought of a toon, so I wrote down the general idea so I could carry it out this morning- which I did. What word did I draw to??? A variation of thread nest that is also called “thread barf.” LOL Wish I could show you, but I need to fine tune it and send it off to the magazine.

Mail Call!!

I’ve been meaning to share a wonderful gift from my dear friend, Lori. She sent me the most lovely crochet boy baby sweater, booty and hat ensemble!! Today, I’ll take it to baby Jack and take his picture in it. Here is a sneak peek:

Lori also sent two flannel diapers that I believe she made:

Oh so cool and I bet very easy to make!! What a terrific gift, Lori!!! Thank you dear friend!

Keep watching… I have another baby gift to share from two other dear friends!!

Enjoy your day!! Hugs, Carla

5 thoughts on “Wednesday WIP

  1. The neocolor crayons are fun, and after heat set, don’t bleed. I also like that the color seems to intensify with heat. they aren’t as predictable as textile paints…but the effect is totally different…a good tool to have in the box.

    Cute diapers!

  2. CUTE sweater set!!! What a nice friend:)
    Cant wait to see Jack in it.
    I have been making tons of those diapers too, but I have been calling them burp cloths? LOL Hmmmmm

  3. yup, I call them burp cloths too…

    And the sweater set arrived just in time for summer. Is that not me, or what?
    Yeesh. Some things never change. Day late and a dollar short is my style…

  4. I have to say when I read the “thread barf” I got a mental picture of your chicken barfing up thread much as a cat does a hairball. I know that sounds gross, but I LOL’d and that just goes to show my sometimes sick sense of humor. OYVE, I better go get some quilting done.

Leave a Reply

