Earth Day

A reminder that today is Earth Day. Renew-Reuse-Recycle! Our new solar panel system on our house is one way our family is Earth conscious… plus there are financial benefits as well. Same goes for recycling, composting, etc.

Tonight on PBS NOVA is a show worth watching- NPR’s “Car Talk” hosts, Tom and Ray, are doing a show on alternative fuel sources for cars, plus newer technologies which are also earth friendly. My DH is still interested in actually converting a car. He has been interested in this ever since he read the book, “From the Fryer to the Fuel Tank” by Joshua Tickell:

Since gas prices here in California are the highest in the US, one station I passed the other day was charging over $4 per gallon, this topic is most relevant.

Enjoy your day! Regards, Carla

5 thoughts on “Earth Day

  1. I sure hear you about those gas prices! I had an ecologist from California do a guest post on my blog today, in honor of Earth Day.

    Lisa, thanks for stopping by…. I left a comment on your blog, too.

  2. I have been trying to quilt green as suggested by Mark in Quilter’s Home magazine. Yesterday I added to my compost pile, it is finally nice enough to uncover some stuff here in last spring arriving Wisconsin.
    So that is my green for this week!

    Terrific, Diane!! Hugs, Carla

  3. hi carla. happy earth day! i am a college student and just came across your page while researching for my recycled clothing essay. if you don’t mind i’d love to use your way of recycling clothes as a reference in my paper. can i ask you a question?
    Certainly. Welcome to my blog, btw…

    what do you think the main solution would be to the growing amount of clothes being thrown away, straight to landfills?
    The main solution, imho, will be to educate the average consumer, perhaps by use of mass media (internet, television, print ads, etc.), as to the impact on the environment. At the same time, you need to give people positive choices to change their behavior. Consignment stores provide a financial incentive to consumers, donating to charities provide a potential tax break as well as intrinsic value.

    As part of the education process, you also need to show what you can do functionally and artistically with pre-used items. Altered clothing (also called “wardrobe refashioning”), and finding new uses for the raw material by painting, stripping, shrinking, felting, etc.- is cost effective as well as practical. This is nothing new… generations ahead of us would reuse items out of necessity. The same applies to artists- Picasso was but one of many who chose to work with “found objects.”

    what can everyone do to slowly change their habits to start recycling clothes?
    Obviously, instead of throwing them in the trash, they can donate or sell them. If they are artistically minded or crafty, they can remake or reuse. For instance, I love to pick up wool sweaters at the thrift store because I can do so much with it. I can pull the yarn apart and reuse the yarn in my freeform crochet projects, or I could felt it and make a purse, rug or other item out of it. I can also remake it into a new sweater as I have shown before on my blog. Really, the ideas are endless.

    My grandmother, having lived through the Great Depression in the Missouri Ozarks, never threw anything away. She also hunted in strange places for her craft supplies- once when I was little girl, I remember we were doing a craft together and we needed plastic leaves. Her solution was to walk to the cemetary and dig through the pile of old plastic flowers that were going to be thrown away at the back of the cemetary. LOL- now that is being resourceful!!

    thanks so much !!
    You are welcome, thanks for stopping by! Regards, Carla

  4. I saw something similar to your Fry book on tv. It takes an old diesel engine, I think in this case it was an old volvo & converted it to run on old restaurant fry grease. Imagine going around & collecting that! Or having to smell french frys everytime you start up your car. lol I’m intrigued but can’t talk the DH into it yet.🙂

    Hi Nancy, my engineer husband is planning to buy a diesel truck and convert it. Yes, he will hunt around all the local restaurants to obtain their old oil. It’s a win-win…. the restaurants pay to have it disposed of typically, so they would happily give it away instead.

    Diesel gas is $4.39 here in CA near me. Big OUCH!!

Leave a Reply

