Cartoon Deadline and Quilt Judging

In true Carla Fashion, I am drawing to my magazine deadline today. Sometimes, I really have to think about my target reader and tailor it to them… but too much Carla humor might offend… LOL!!

Here is a cartoon that I can show you… an apology to all my judges (certified or otherwise) and judges in training for NQA certification:

Feel free to comment on the whole judging experience. Is it subjective or not? How skilled or formally trained should judges be?? If you are a quilt judge, I would love to also hear from you. Feedback and various views are encouraged…

In the meantime, if anyone has funny quilt judge comments they would like to share with me, please do. If I use it in one of my cartoons, I will send you one.

Hugs, Carla

6 thoughts on “Cartoon Deadline and Quilt Judging

  1. I think judging is subjective. Every judge sees things differently which makes for different ideas of how they interpret the quilt. I think judges should be skilled and trained. How formally trained, I’m not sure. It would be really hard for rural areas to send judges to formal training.

    I think judges can be biased because they look for particular features and not the entire quilt. Some just pick out binding and forget the rest of the quilt. Others get caught up in color that they love or a style of quilt. If you know the quilter it’s easy to be biased and look the other way at mistakes. It’s also hard when they see the same type of quilt several times but it’s a “new to me” quilt and it’s overlooked that way.

    Having quilt being judged as a new quilter is scary. I wish more judges would be specific on the comment form what they interpreted as wrong or right so that I can make the next quilt better. My county quilt judge says nothing on the paperwork of the quilt and you are left guessing as to what was good/bad. (That could be a cartoon right there..looking over your comments on the entry slip wondering if anyone even bothered looking at your quilt)

  2. I totally agree with you Carla. The Judging is very subjective. While they have say they have objective criteria…it seems that each judge interprets that criteria in their own subjective. In my own experience, It is the norm that I get diametrically opposed comments by judges on the same quilt. If the process is objective, how do you ‘splain’ that????

  3. What does PIQF mean…? Explain to us not exactly quilty types…

    Sorry about that, Lori. PIQF means Pacific International Quilt Festival. It is held in San Jose, I believe.

  4. I am in the process of studying to become a certified judge. I read with great interest your comments on the judging process and how quilters feel about judges’ critiques.

    In my experience, I have seen many art quilters dismayed that the judge did not seem to understand their art, or that they felt the judge was not qualified to evaluate their art. What the art quilter must also realize, however, is that they are entering a QUILT show, and their piece will be evaluated as such. Standards of workmanship apply to workmanship as well as standards of good design. Case in point: I have just returned from my quilt guild’s show. There was a special exhibit of works by a locally known quilt artist. While the pieces were exceptional in their design, the workmanship in some areas was substandard, and in several areas, poor.

    Think of it in terms of a dog show and its standards. A dog may have the shiniest coat, the most beautiful head and eyes and a wonderful disposition, but if one leg is shorter than the other, he’s not going to win any ribbons!

    If art quilters want their work evaluated for it’s design esthetic alone, they may be better off entering a different type of venue where there is less emphasis on excellent workmanship.

  5. I’ve won several ribbons for my quilts and quilted jackets. I am often confused by the judge’s comments. I wish they would explain exactly what they find unsatisfactory in each item. I have also noted that several times the judges marked items not done on the item that was, in fact, done. Such as corners of binding were not sewn, when they were sewn down? I’m not confident that the judges are really looking at each item specifically. I would like to see some standard form for all judges to utilize for all quilt judging. Is that too much to ask??

  6. Carla, Your work is fascinating and so is your website. I am preparing a small PowerPoint presentation about quilt show judging for my quilt guild meeting on Monday night. I found you through google while looking up information about judging.

    I see that you do cartoons, TOO. I’ve looked at the ones you’ve posted. Is there any chance that you’ve finished a cartoon about judges, yet? If so, would you give me permission to include your cartoon in my presentation. I will give you full credit for the cartoon.

    Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

