Studio Makeover and other stuff

My studio is empty, clean and painted- save for my VERY large longarm quilting machine which looks like this:


This machine takes up a lot of space- roughly 12 feet x 4 feet wide. Attempting to find storage has been the challenge in my revamped studio. My last studio was about 16×24 feet, plus had a storage area and full bathroom.

I’ve decided to go with Ikea for my arts/craft storage, specifically their Pax system. This stuff is NOT inexpensive, which is why I am attempting to research other options. I like that I can add sliding doors onto the Pax wardrobe system so the stuff is out of sight and doesn’t get dusty.

Here is my preliminary floorplan:


You can see how space is tight, but I do love how my desk/work station is near the french doors so I can see out while I work.

Hopefully, I can visit Ikea and get the studio room design finalized so I may purchase what I need to get this room back together!


Yesterday, I showed 2 projects I had been working on. The quilted cuff will have a velcro closure and here is a picture of it shaped:


Here is a more 3-D picture of the quilted basket or container showing the side panels. I sprinkled leaves on the side to help carry the theme:



This weekend, Joe and I went to a birthday party for my oldest son. Of course, that gave us more squeezing time with Jack, who is now 3 weeks old:

jack3weeks.jpg jackhalfasleep.jpg

Hope your day is enjoyable and creative! Hugs, Carla

2 thoughts on “Studio Makeover and other stuff

  1. Hi, Carla – can’t wait to see your finished studio redo. We never have enough room, do we? I’ve managed to fill a medium size manufactured home and I’m trying to figure out how to do an add-on!! Right now extra rolls of batts are stored in the spare bathtub.

  2. Pingback: Fabric Stash Organization and Tutorial « Feathered Fibers

Leave a Reply

