Going Solar!

In my spare time, I’ve been getting bids to install solar panels on the roof of my home. We’ve picked a local company that is offering the SunPower solar panels, which seem to be the most efficient we could find.

Here in California, we pay some of the highest electricity rates in the country. In July of 2006, our bill was over $700.00 for electricty rate alone. Yikes! So we picked a system where we would have net metering.

The process starts with the writing a check and we reserve a rebate slot. Hopefully, the installation will be done in about 2 months, and once we get county permit approval.

So… I guess that makes me a solar machine quilter after it is installed. LOL

4 thoughts on “Going Solar!

  1. That is awesome!! When we lived up by Fresno, we had a tankless hot water heater and it was great. IF we ever get to the point we can move and build, we are going to go totally solar.

  2. I’ll be interested to know how it all works out for you. I researched solar as an option for us a few years ago. To have enough power to take us off grid was incredibly expensive – well over $200k. With electric bills in the 300 – 350 range, the payback period was way too long.

  3. Vicki, I sent you an email about how much the system is costing us. Prices have certainly come down- at least here in CA. Our price is between 20-27k to bring our annual costs down to less than $200 with the net metering.

    I’m really looking forward to the installation, so I will certainly share pictures!

Leave a Reply

