Studio Makeover…

The last day or so, I’ve been packing up my studio so I can make it over.  It was getting out of control, so I needed to do something fast!  Here is a picture of my plain studio- in cleaner, less cluttered days:

carlastudio.jpg  Confession Time… this picture was taken before I unpacked all my fabric and art supplies.  I obviously need storage, that’s a given.

The challenge is that the longarm quilting machine takes up so much room.  My desk and storage needs to go around the perimeter of the room in order to fit the space.

Here is my “Need” list for this workspace:

A working desk for my laptop and sewing machine and serger.

A stand up cutting table/workspace

Wall mounted, drop leaf table for bobbin winder.
Storage cabinets with sliding doors.  Storage cabinets need to have wire baskets to store fabric & yarn.  Also needs shelves for thread, books, & paint, drawers for notions, beads, misc supplies.

Task lighting, quilting stencil storage, embellishment supply storage, rubber stamp storage, at least 3-5 clocks so I know what time it is when Joe is traveling around the world on business

Need one wall for artwork, and hanging quilt.

Magnetic  board with effective hi power magnets.

Magazine rack- retro

Hi Def TV for wall mount.

This will be an ambitious project.  I wish I had my cabinet guy do my workspace cabinets when we were building the house,  but I wanted to live in the space first.  I am thinking of buying most of everything from IKEA, pottery barn, or container store.

I’m going to keep the paint color neutral like in the photo above.  I just need to repaint and touch up the existing paint for now.

I’ll keep you posted on the progress.  Right now, I’m halfway done with packing it up completely.

I’m always open to advice and ideas, by the way.  Regards, Carla

7 thoughts on “Studio Makeover…

  1. Sounds like you’re going to have one awesome studio! Yes, it’s ambitious, but very doable.

    Although my studio is very organized, I’m about to do a major renovation (expansion) and the thought of emptying all of the stuff in my sewing room is overwhelming–I just keep putting it off…LOL!

    If you need any ideas on storage and such, I have an ongoing Sewing Room Organization Challenge on my blog–stop by and say hi!

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with! Good luck!

    With friendship,

  2. Hi Carla,

    Wow, I’m not only envious of your talent I’m envious of your space! I work in my attic with little tiny windows off to the side. One has a vertical air conditioner in it and the other is the only natural light. Best of luck with your plans.

    Karen A.

  3. You are a brave woman taking on you whole studio re-do! I look @ something I need to change and realize how many other things I would have to do to make that happen……….and give up! LOL

  4. I can’t wait to see what you do! I’ll be moving in 8 weeks to a new house with a huge studio and haven’t figured out how to handle the storage issues. Have fun!!

  5. Good luck with the redo. You have a nice large space to work with so I’m sure you’ll come up with a fantastic, workable space. I live in a 12 x 13 room, but it opens to the outside via a wall of glass doors that disappear into a pocket. Makes the space seem much larger in the winter when the air is off. LOL Storage ideas, however I’m always looking for. Lighting used to be aproblem till my DH installed my new over the longarm system…now I have light to spare…even for these old eyes! Can’t wait to see what you do with the space.

  6. Pingback: Fabric Stash Organization and Tutorial « Feathered Fibers

  7. Okay, Carla…I spent almost the entire weekend washing, ironing and folding my fabric around the boards you recommended. We made a trip to Ikea several weeks ago and bought two of the Billy Byob white bookcases and a DVD/CD case to hold my thread and fabric. I only bought 100 of the boards thinking that was plenty…not quite. I’ll need to get another shipment to be totally done. It took FOREVER, but was well worth it. Everything looks so nice and neat and I even found some fabric I’d been missing!!

    Thanks for the great ideas!!

Leave a Reply

