Flannel Rag Purses

Today, I cut and sewed 2 flannel rag purses into two sizes (large and small) to use as class samples at my local quilt store.

Here are the two purses, please note I still need to cut or “fringe” the edges and then wash it in the washer to further rag it up.

flannelragpurse1.jpg    sockmonkeyragpurse.jpg

and here is what my finished one looks like:


These are very simple bags to make, they are made much like those rag quilts that were so popular about 4 years ago.  Here are the steps in case you are curious:


Step 1 is to cut the flannel and batting.  Step 2 and 3 is to layer the three layers (flannel, batting, flannel layer)  and stitch an “X.”  Add buttonholes to all sides (except the bottom layer) shown in Step 4.  Assemble the purse, make the handle, then you fringe and wash this project to make it look cool.

I’ll show you what they look like when I’m completed.  My scissors are rather dull right now, so I’ll buy a new one tomorrow so I might finish this project.

9 thoughts on “Flannel Rag Purses

  1. Hi Deb, Joe and I get to babysit him tomorrow night for a few hours while my son and DIL go out for dinner. It’s my DIL’s birthday, so they want to celebrate. We can’t wait!!

    Jack’s eye was acting goopy, so a visit to the pediatrician was in order. Turns out his tear duct is blocked. This also happened to my youngest son (about 20 years ago) and they ended up having to do surgery to correct it. The pediatrician is taking a “wait and see” approach with jack- which is good.

    I’ll take pictures if you all can stand to see more. LOL!

  2. I hope you have a good time babysitting. What a special treat for his mom and dad to be able to go out for dinner.

    Thanks for the comment. We are only a few hundred miles from being neighbors. I am in Salem. I’m off to try and drive to work this morning. Wish me luck!

  3. I love your purses. I really liked the sock monkey one you did for your sister. I going to have to look for the pattern for these.
    Enjoy your first night babysitting! We expect lots of pictures!😀

  4. This is the first time I commented here and I must say that you share us genuine, and quality information for bloggers! Great job.
    p.s. You have an awesome template for your blog. Where have you got it from?

    Hello, since your name is hydraulic floor jacks, I have used one to form metal for a metal arts jewelry class last semester.
    Anyhow, you asked about the template, all WordPress blogs will tell you the template (called “Theme”) down at the very bottom of the blog. So if you scroll down all the way, I started with a theme called Mistylook by Sadish. The header and other art here is mine, many of the themes allow you to upload your own art if you wish.

    Hope this answers your question! Carla

Leave a Reply

