Creating a Master Retreat

I am a firm believer in creating a warm and inviting master bedroom for yourself. Mine has a walk-in shower (no door) with Corian walls for ease of cleaning. I also have a special jacuzzi type of tub with a special back care setting. A fireplace is nice, also a cozy sitting/reading area. This sets the stage for the next step in completing my retreat- a flat screen TV that retracts and raises only when I need it.

A few days ago it was delivered and set up. My youngest son promptly nicknamed this the “drug dealer TV” because he thinks only a drug dealer would install one. LOL! Actually, lift TV’s are gaining popularity, and many upscale hotels are installing them, too. I earn my money honestly, so there blows my son’s nickname to shreds.

Here are some pictures so you can see how it works. To open or close, you simply press a button on the remote. Why get out of bed unless you have to?


Then the TV opens to its full height:


It also kindly turns on and off the TV for you automatically. As you can see, we have Dish HD with a 52″ flat screen HD TV.

To lower, just press the remote again:


until it is fully closed:


The idea to buy one came from my time on the M/Y Wombat here and here during my trip earlier this year crewing on the boat for a month while it was being moved from Ft. Lauderdale to MI by way of the Erie and Welland Canals and the Great Lakes.

The Wombat has a TV that raises and lowers to save space. My DH wanted to put a HDTV in our home so he hung it on the wall, which looked horrible! I searched for and ordered the TV lift unit so that I didn’t have to stare at this huge TV every time I walked into the room. It disturbed my artistic energy, you might say. Now it discretely says out of sight unless we wish to use it.

We actually found ours through, though I noticed they no longer sell my brand. Not sure why, I LOVE mine and it is fun to play with it by raising and lowering. LOL Of course, I am easily amused.

Enjoy your day! Hugs, Carla

3 thoughts on “Creating a Master Retreat

  1. The problem with this , the 52″ HDTV in our home is ALWAYS on..with hubby’s hand on the remote.. it would never be in the “hidden” mode… Nice idea though for us woman who don’t want the home decor to center around the TV.

Leave a Reply

