Mailbox- plus some retail therapy

A birthday present and a RAK arrived in the mail this week. First, a brief history….

I have always enjoyed Larkin Van Horn’s beading art, and I missed the opportunity to hang out with her at Linda’s house last month. Knowing this, my friend, Lynn, bought me her book as a birthday gift and had Larkin write a personal message to me in it! Thanks, Lynn!


I also received a random act of kindness mailing from someone. In it was all kinds of embellishments, Christmas bells and beads. Thank you for your RAK!! I’m guessing that Sharon sent it to me, she loves to do acts of kindness like this.  She is very kind that way…

While vacationing in AZ, I stumbled across some recycled glass jewelry that I fell in love with by Arizona artist, Christy Fisher.


I love recycled art and refashioning items. The set on the right is faux recycled glass to resemble sea glass. The one on the left is a crackled glass technique.

Off to quilt now! Hugs, Carla

8 thoughts on “Mailbox- plus some retail therapy

  1. Carla, you are going to love Larkin’s book! I have tons and tons of beading books, and this is the BEST one … such clear instructions and great illustrations.
    I love recycled art and repurposed jewelry too … great finds! I’m jealous! ;^)

  2. Looks like we may just have to have a play day with my kiln and some glass… I am going to be stuck at home for awhile dad had a stroke this week. Is in the hospital as i write this.. but when he comes home I am going to be home bound.. give me a call!

  3. So glad you like the book, Carla! I enjoyed going through a few pages of it with you this morning. Can’t wait to try a few of these projects together!🙂 I like the pieces Sharon sent you too. I’m always looking at how I can re-use pieces like these. Can’t wait to see what you do with them!

Leave a Reply

