Nancy’s Quilt

Today’s work-in-progress (WIP) is Nancy’s quilt.



I was going to start it about 2 weeks or so ago, then it got pushed to a back burner. The picture is a bit fuzzy, but the quilting is coming along fine.

For my quilting readers, I am using 2 layers of batting- the bottom is Hobbs cotton and the top is Hobb’s poly for a bit more added loft. The background is using isocord and the yes, I will be stitching, though minimally, in the orange flowers and green areas.

This quilt is for a very sweet lady, who loves traditional quilts. The pattern is called a Carolina Lily. I am happy with the quilting so far, but in hindsight I don’t think I would have chosen the small floral motif next to the Lily. I added this in for a bit more visual interest for the quilt.

Regards, Carla

13 thoughts on “Nancy’s Quilt

  1. Oh my gosh I love it Carla! Fantastic quilting. I love Ronda’s style too. You’ve really done a great job on this quilt. I hope you post a completed picture.

  2. Thank you for your wonderful comments! I figure this quilt will take me some time to do since I have alot of detail work, but I’ll show you it when I’m finished. Today, I start on the blank alternate blocks.

    Because of my spine issues, I only quilt part days. I quilt until tired, then move onto other fiber stuff. I’m almost finished with the fiber charms now.

  3. Carla your quilting is just awesome. I love the tiny swirl you are useing as a fill…………… looks very dainty and adds so much to your feathers and flowers!

  4. This is so beautiful and l am not a quilter but l couldn’t stop looking at it, what a lucky lady to get this but was thinking you must have good eyes as we see it bigger but there is not a fault, l think its the most beautiful one l have seen, going to put your blog on mine so l don’t miss any of it.
    I didn’t even have to find you, l have art quilts on a google alert and they sent me yours.
    Can l ask about the stencils

  5. Pingback: Artful Blogging « Feathered Fibers

Leave a Reply

