Backlash Against Crocs

My oldest son, Stephen, sent me email link concerning the danger of Croc brand shoes. Apparently, a 4-year-old boy in Northern Virginia injured his foot on an escalator when one of his Crocs got trapped. The article cautions Croc (and Croc rip-offs) wearers to be careful of entrapment dangers with these shoes- especially with young children.

This follows another recent media article from the BBC concerning the danger of Crocs- this time in hospitals. Many hospitals have banned Crocs worn by their medical staff, stating a health and safety risk. Specifically, the BBC article writes, safety and infection dangers includes needles and blood being dropped and falling through the holes of the shoes. Interesting enough, a Swedish hospital banned Crocs, citing that static electricity generated had the potential to disrupt medical equipment.

Many of you know that I’ve worn Crocs well before the general population caught onto them. In fact, they used to be so ugly, yet functional, that they were rather cool until I spotted them in a shopping center, airport kiosk and on that old man worn with white tube socks and shorts. Thus said, I still wear them while standing for long hours quilting, and I love my brown Mary Jane style ones. They have also work well on my many yacht trips, though they were the subject of debate among the crew.


The shoe grips so well, that the wearer could easily trip. This did happen to one of the yacht owners during a Bahamian trip last year. She tripped while boarding the boat, had a serious fall, then needed to be taken to the hospital for medical treatment. This event lead to a heated discussion between the Pro-Croc crowd and the Anti-Croc faction.

Are Crocs a safety hazard or is it just a load of Croc? (Sorry, I just could resist saying that! LOL)  Do you prefer reading the blog, “I Hate Crocs Dot Com” or “Little Rubber Shoes .com (formerly”

If you have an opinion, just leave a comment.  I would love to hear from both sides.

19 thoughts on “Backlash Against Crocs

  1. Okay, I have a comment. You can get hurt using ANYTHING if you try hard enough………..Remember that shoe laces can get caught in escalators, too. We haven’t outlawed/banned trees even though you can fall out of them or poke your eye out with a stick.

    I can see banning from the hospital if they create enough static elec. to disturb machines, but I really wonder about that.

    Whenever something gets popular there is a backlash. That said, I only where my crocs in the yard when slogging through the garden or while walking the dog. They are bright red and I call them my clown shoes. They don’t go anywhere in public with me………

  2. What Terri said – everything carries some risk. I did hear recently that a local hospital here is banning them because of the needle/blood issue, not because of static electricity.

  3. I have come late to the Croc world, but I do love them – mainly for the comfort, and for the “no-smelly-feet” thing. My husband loves being able to hose them off when he comes in from working in the yard.

  4. I have been listening to all the croc flap too… I personally defy anyone to make me leave my crocs in the lerch! Granted, my favorite being the thong style, not the Jibits style. I do use those in winter with sox though. I got nailed in the pink ones by accident going for sushi one night… never again….
    I did perk an ear to your friends gripper accident, I notice on occasion I too get too much traction and get ahead of myself at times. (jibits style)
    I would have to side with hospital actions on safety. Maybe the new unholy will be better for them…..Escalators? Pick up your feet women!

  5. I love my crocs. But I have changed from the “Beach” Crocs to the “Cayman” Crocs. They fit a little better. And come in whole sizes not in 6-7 or 8-9.
    The only time I found a problem with the crocs, is when they wear out. They get really slick in watery conditions when the tread wears off. Those Crocs have gone to the great landfill in the sky! I don’t know how many times I slipped on wet floors wearing them.

  6. I love my crocs too! I totally understand the health a safety factor for Hospital Staff, but that can be rectified by crocs with no holes.
    I wear mine fishing a lot and love the grip I get when I’m boarding and the fact that if they get wet its no big deal.
    They are also my favorite for quilting, but I found they weren’t so great at the office, not sure why though.

  7. As a fashion statement, I hate them. Sorry, but to me, they are UGLY. And maybe it would help if people would at least try to match them with everything else they are wearing…But then again, maybe not…I really don’t think large bright orange or neon pink shoes look good on anyone. I think they need to be on “What Not to Wear”…lol. That said, I have tried them on because, ugly or not, if they are comfy, I would wear them in the house and yard for quilting, etc., like any other house shoe. However, I didn’t even find them to be comfortable. Either too short, or my foot was lost in them. So here I am, on the other side of the Croc coin…Please, don’t excommunicate me from the blog ring or stop being my friends! 🙂

  8. Excommunicate?? NEVER!!! I believe in a free exchange of ideas and tastes here on my blog. If we were all just the same- life would be boring, imho! LOL!

    Thank you for sharing your opinion, too.

  9. Give me a break. Why can people not take responsibility for being a klutz? Lack of coordination? I fall over in clogs and high heels, but are they pulling THOSE off the market or warning people of the hazards of high heel shoes on city streets, or lawn parties? I think not.

    Folks need to supervise 4 y/olds on escalators. Oh, no flip flops either, folks. Those have been safety violators way longer than the innocent CROC.

    I love my big ugly crocs, and I’m going to be keeping them. They’re the only thing that saved my back at the quilt show last weekend.


  10. Me love my crocs… ( i only wear the thong style… in nuetral colors… black, brown and blue)… as a person with Rheumatoid arthritis i cannot say enought about how good they feel on my poor feet! Yay for crocs….

    I witnessed a nasty escalator accident once … the person was killed in fact… she wasn’t wearing crocs.


  11. I love my Crocs as well. However, I did get a bit of a shock recently when I stepped off a curb in a dark parking lot and fell forward. My Crocs literally folded during the fall and bent back both of my big toes. Broke my right toe and damaged my left toe (will probably lose the nail).

    I still wear my Crocs (and they do bother my sore toes a bit) but I have a new found respect for them and share this anecdote as a caution to fellow Croc lovers!


    Big Ouch, Jamie! Hope you recover soon.- Carla

  12. My little girl got here first shiner last night thanks to her Cinderella Crocs there going in the trash. She has been extremely clumsy in them ever since she got them. Not a good shoe choice for young kids in my opinion.


  13. How can you tell when Croc sandals wear out?

    I’ve been wearing mine for about 2 years and recently noticed pain where I broke my foot, when previously these shoes remedied that.

    Do I need a new pair?

    • RB, I bet you could call the company and get an answer. However, buying a new pair and trying it is probably less expensive than going to a custom shoe place and/or hunting for a new brand you like.

      Good luck!

  14. A week ago I did the Croc Stop in my hallway wearing the fur lined Crocs, hit the hardwood floor and broke my kneecap. Before I ever fell, I must have tripped 10+ times, just have good balance and always caught myself. After this fall, right at the holidays, my Crocs are in the trash. I feel like an idiot that after the first few trips I didn’t toss them! They were just so comfy. Well, I’m not too comfy now! Don’t risk falling, get rid of them!

    • Big ouch, Janis! So sorry to hear you broke your kneecap. I haven’t worn mine in a long, long time, so no falls here.
      Thank you for sharing your experience, hopefully you have saved another from a similar fall.
      Take care, Carla

Leave a Reply

