Retail Therapy

Today, I was minding my own business, thinking of doing some chores, when I realized I needed to deliver a quilt back to Virginia, a delightful friend. We arranged to meet while she was in a local quilt store (LQS), one that I don’t visit as often, but should. Here’s a picture of Virginia’s baby quilt with 3D pinwheels taken while I was still quilting it:

Virginia’s quilt

It is a good thing that I don’t visit this LQS more often as I went a little crazy and now need to work overtime to pay for my spree! Note to self: It’s OK to use fabric from your stash! Really, you can do it!

Here’s the fabric that I just had to have:

New fabric

And this retro floral fabric was 50% off:

retro floral fabric

I also needed some of this fabric because it was on sale:

more new fabric

My favorite was the first fabric grouping. Good quality fabric feels good and sometimes you just need to play with it:


I feel this way about fabric, yarns and also beads. Anyone else share my addiction passion? Regards, Carla

16 thoughts on “Retail Therapy

  1. Hi Karen,

    Here’s the list of fabrics- in order top to bottom, left to right:

    Striped: “Belle” by Amy Butler for Rowan Fabrics

    Black and white is actually made up of 4 fabrics separated by tape measures, same for the green next to it:”Peas & Carrots” by American Jane Patterns, Sandy Klop for Moda

    ABC fonts- “Peas & Carrots” by Moda, too

    Bottom 3 floral fabrics are by “Lotus” by Amy Butler for Moda

    Vicki, Suzanne and Karen, I love them , too! They feel so good when you pet and stroke them! New fabric feels so nice!

  2. Carla, I love that first grouping. I’ve been going thru a lime green part of life now, paired with black ( my staple color). I can see those as a new purse, or maybe a jacket (an abstract one like that purse you made with the latched hooked top). So many possibilities……..and so little time.

    Karen L in MN

  3. Oh Dear Sweet Carla, you are not alone in the Fabric Passion department, I love all of these, I can see that we have very similiar tastes.

    I cannot wait to see what creations come from Carla’s Creative Fibers, I want to be YOU!

    Also, bravo on your new blog, I love it, makes me think maybe I should do something different, want to loan me some time! Talk to you soon, Hugs and I am glad Joe will be home tomorrow, rest up!

  4. I don’t share your addiction for fabric.. although I think I could even without a working sewing machine. As you make it look so appealing. That said, I do tend to get addicted to buying cool stuff to make stuff that never gets made because there is too much stuff to find the stuff I need to make the stuff.

  5. Faith, a few days with me and I promise I’d convert you!! LOL! Of course I remember our mosiac phase, we have boxes of expensive supplies to remind us. I remember your polymer clay and jewelry days, too!! Hugs, Carla

  6. Karen, have you even seen Ronda’s Lime Green quilt in person??? It’s titled, “It Ain’t Easy Being Green.” Her quilt is a masterpiece and obviously Ronda LOVES green, too!

  7. Carla, I’ve only seen Ronda’s “green” in pictures. I would love to see it up close, but getting to shows is sorta tough for me. I’m hoping to get to MQS in June but it depends upon my other life and how and if I survive prom and graduations between now and then. Actually the lime green thing is coming from my DD. When we built our home in 2005, my daughter picked lime green for her walls, sorta bright with deep purple carpeting, it looks great and the color has “rubbed” off on to me.

    Karen L in MN

  8. Karen, what a good mom you are to allow artistic color freedom to your daughter! Did I ever mention that my daughter decided to “redecorate” her bathroom one day with a can of that webbing spray with no masking? Followed by bright blue paint here and there? Yup… had to scrap that stuff off the floor, ceiling, toilet, etc., then re-texture the walls to fix it. Ahhh, the joys of being a mother…

  9. Oh yes, I know of this addiction or passion of which you speak….I, too, have a stash of all manner of fabric, yarns, beads, books, etc. It’s my therapy. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it! (Nice blog, I’ve bookmarked it.)

  10. Welcome Barbara! Besides fabric, I also have a yarn, bead and book stash. I’m also married to a “Joe,” too. I went to your blog and I love your freeform crochet work and other art featured. I liked it so much I added you to my blogroll!

  11. I just realized that you live in one of DH’s home away from homes! I’m going to have to pay closer attention to where you shop!! He usually has to bring home a bribe from each trip Yippeee!!

  12. serendipityquilting,

    There are two quilt store fabrics, off of highway 50- one is High Sierra Quilters in Cameron Park and the other is Quilters Corner off of Bradshaw St.

    If you want my FAVORITE store- then we need to send him to a wonderful fiber arts store called JR Flamingo in Sacramento. It’s a more artsy kind of place, but I always take visiting quilting friends there and they love it.

  13. Thank you very much! High Sierra has been the source of many loved treasures so far! I’ll email him the others! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

