Balsamic Chicken

Carla Update:  Ok, I followed the recipe and it was edible.  I think my high setting on Crock Pot is really high, because I ended up with no liquid and dry chicken.  I served it over rice, which was fine, but it needed vegetables to the recipe or on the side.   Plus: it did smell good and the chicken was tender.  If anyone tried it and it comes out better, let me know.  LOL

The following Crock Pot recipe was found on my DIL Aimee’s facebook page.  It sounds most yummy, and healthy, too.  I will let you know how it turned out tomorrow:

  • Balsamic Chicken:
    4-6 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts
    2 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
    1 onion thinly sliced (Not chopped)
    4 garlic cloves
    1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
    2 tblsp olive oil
    1 tsp each: dried oregano,basil, and rosemary
    1/2 tsp thyme
    ground black pepper and salt to tastePour the olive oil on bottom of crock pot
    place in chicken breasts, salt and pepper each breast
    put sliced onion on top of chicken
    then put in all the dried herbs and garlic cloves
    pour in vinegar and top with tomatoes

    Cook on high 4 hours, serve over angel hair pasta

This Crock Pot recipe comes from  Leslie Marshall

3 thoughts on “Balsamic Chicken

  1. Be sure to let us know how it turns out — I printed it and if this is yummy I want to try it. I love balsamic vinegar so I think I might like this and I love throwing something in the crock pot and going back to quilting. :o}

  2. I have found that the newer slow cookers have a higher temperature than the older ones. I can cut the cooking time down by 2-3 hours. Also, boneless skinless thighs work better in slow cookers. Chicken breasts seem to get pretty dry.

    • Lynn, I do believe you are right. Mine is a newer Crock Pot. Substituting thighs is a great idea, plus a cost savings, too. Every so often, I love to try new recipes- though it is hit and miss. LOL

Leave a Reply

